Formula E

International Single-seaters

The FIA introduced its first fully electric single-seater series in 2014 with 20 identical Spark SRT_01E-Renaults. Each race, or ePrix, was run on city-centre street circuits from Beijing to London’s Battersea Park – the proximity of the barriers and buildings making the cars appear quicker than they actually are. With a top speed of 140mph, the collision between Nicolas Prost and Nick Heidfeld while disputing the lead of the inaugural race proved that they are fast enough to be dangerous.

Practice, qualifying and the 45 minute race is compressed into a single day and limited battery life makes a mandatory mid-race swap to a second chassis a necessity. The one-make regulations were eased for Formula E’s second season to allow different power trains to be used.

Subscribe to Motor Sport

Please select one of the following subscription offerings to gain uninterrupted access to over 92 years of Motor Sport archive.