FIA Touring Cars

The FIA introduced a World Touring Car Championship in 1987 but that proved to be a controversial affair. Undoubted star at the time Roberto Ravaglia who won that title for BMW but the championship was abandoned after a single season.

New for 1993 was the Touring Car World Cup, a one-off event at Monza to decide the category's World Champion. It attracted an impressive field of the best 2000cc Touring Cars from around Europe with Paul Radisich’s British Championship Ford Mondeo winning that year and again at Donington Park in 1994. The final such event was held at Paul Ricard in 1995 which Frank Biela won for Audi.

The recently reintroduced European Touring Car Championship was given World status in 2005 and it was BMW that triumphed once more. Channel Islander Andrew Priaulx won the first three such titles (al clinched at the Macau decider). Yvan Muller has since won the WTCC title on four occasions for SEAT and then Chevrolet.

Subscribe to Motor Sport

Please select one of the following subscription offerings to gain uninterrupted access to over 92 years of Motor Sport archive.