Skip navigation

Tuesday 9th February 2016


Headline sponsor

Associate sponsor

Official car marque


The founding members of the Motor Sport Hall of Fame are some of motor racing’s greatest names. For us, it was a ‘given’ that they should be members. Names like Ayrton Senna, Enzo Ferrari, Tazio Nuvolari, Jim Clark, Juan Manuel Fangio and Stirling Moss have made the sport what it is today. So, before we inducted the first four members in 2010, we announced these eight founding members.


 Enzo Ferrari
‘Il Commendatore’ was the founder of Scuderia Ferrari and one of motor sport’s most influential figures. He was renowned for his genius and temperamental nature in equal measure, but without him Ferrari and its 215 Grand Prix victories would never have happened.

 Tazio Nuvolari
Without doubt the most accomplished driver of his era. Nuvolari was European Drivers’ Champion in 1932, winner of the 1933 Le Mans 24 Hours, winner of the Mille Miglia in 1930 and ’33, and was also 350cc Motorcycle European Champion in 1925.
 Ayrton Senna
The Brazilian racing driver from São Paulo won three World Championships for McLaren in 1988, ’90 and  ’91. He was a deeply spiritual man and waged a bitter rivalry with Alain Prost that spilled over into controversy. His speed over a single lap and in wet conditions sealed his reputation as the awesome force of his era.
 Jim Clark
The quiet Scot – born in Kilmany, Fife – won two World Championships for Lotus in 1963 and ’65. He was well known for winning in any type of car he had the chance to drive, including the Indianapolis 500 in 1965 and the 1964 British Saloon Car Championship. At the time of his death at Hockenheim in 1968 he had won more Grands Prix, 25, than anyone in history.
 Sir Jackie Stewart
JYS won three World Championships in 1969, ’71 and ’73 for Matra and Tyrrell. The Scot went on to start his own Formula 1 team in 1997 – Stewart Grand Prix – but perhaps his greatest legacy is for almost single-handedly leading the drive for improved safety standards in the sport, saving numerous lives in the process.
 Juan Manuel Fangio
The Maestro succeeded Nuvolari as racing’s greatest driver in the post-war world. The Argentinian won an astonishing five World Championships between 1951 and ’57 for four different manufacturers – Alfa Romeo, Ferrari, Mercedes and Maserati.
 Sir Stirling Moss
Arguably the greatest all-round racing driver of all time. Stirling was and is known as ‘Mr Motor Racing’. He excelled in every type of machinery he piloted, be it saloon cars, pint-sized 500s or Formula 1. Extremely unlucky not to win a World Championship, Moss nevertheless remains a true icon of the sport.
 Michael Schumacher
This seven-time World Champion is the man who broke all records. Over a Formula 1 career spanning two decades he has won 91 Grands Prix, finished on the podium 154 times and earned 68 pole positions. In 2010 he made a return after three seasons out with the Mercedes GP team and insists he’ll win again.