2016 Mexican Grand Prix preview

by Peter Higham on 27th October 2016

Heading into the 2016 Mexican Grand Prix, Nico Rosberg has scored points in the last 13 races. He needs two finishes inside the top two and a third place in the remaining three events to be crowned world champion – races that he won last year. The 2015 Mexican GP was interrupted by one safety car period and Rosberg won after stopping on laps 26 and 46.

Kimi Räikkönen makes his 250th Grand Prix start in Mexico this weekend, a number that includes the 2001 Belgian GP in which he retired from the original race but was not able to take the restart. He was also one of those to pull in after the parade lap of the controversial six-car 2005 United States GP at Indianapolis.

Daniel Ricciardo has scored points in each of the last 14 Grands Prix and has started in the top 10 all year. Spaniards Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda) and Carlos Sainz (Scuderia Toro Rosso) returned to form in the United States by finishing fifth and sixth respectively. Alonso’s fighting fifth place finish matched his best result since returning to McLaren, and he has scored in five of the last eight races. In similar fashion, Sainz’s sixth equalled his previous best F1 finish.

Esteban Gutiérrez will join Pedro Rodríguez, Moisés Solana and Sergio Pérez as the fourth Mexican to race in his home Grand Prix. Renault-bound Nico Hülkenberg has qualified in the top 10 for the last 10 races and Force India team-mate Pérez has scored points for the last seven championship rounds.

The constructor with the most Mexican GP victories is Lotus, winning the event on four occasions (including the 1962 non-championship race). Both McLaren and Williams are three-time winners.

Download the infographic

Subscribe to Motor Sport

Please select one of the following subscription offerings to gain uninterrupted access to over 92 years of Motor Sport archive.

Need to get in touch with Motor Sport Online?

Contact Us