Classic Singapore Grands Prix

by Peter Higham on 15th September 2017

Host of the first floodlit Formula 1 race, Singapore's Marina Bay holds a world championship race for the 10th time this weekend. The street circuit layout has meant a safety car has been deployed every year, most controversially during that inaugural event.

The 2008 Singapore Grand Prix was won by Renault's Fernando Alonso but only after team-mate Nelson Piquet Jr had deliberately crashed on lap 14. Nico Rosberg was second for Williams despite being handed a drive-through penalty when forced to refuel while the pits were 'closed' following Piquet's accident. Race leader Felipe Massa lost hopes of victory when he left the pits with the refuelling hose still attached.

Lewis Hamilton eased to victory a year later after Sebastian Vettel served a drive-through for speeding in the pitlane, with Timo Glock matching his career-best second-place finish in his last start for Toyota. Alonso converted pole position into victory for the second successive race weekend in 2010 after narrowly withstanding Vettel's challenge. Hamilton's hopes that day were ended by contact with Mark Webber's Red Bull-Renault.

Related: The Singapore Grand Prix on the Database

Vettel won the next three Singapore GPs as he successfully fought for the title. That included an utterly dominant performance in 2013 with Vettel qualifying on pole position, leading every lap, setting the fastest race lap and winning by 32.627sec. Hamilton won from pole position in 2014 while title rival and team-mate Rosberg was forced to start from the pitlane and then retire with steering issues. The previously dominant Mercedes-Benz team team was hampered by tyre issues in 2015 in another race won (by Vettel's Ferrari) from pole position. The polesitter has gone on to win the Singapore GP every year bar 2008 and 2012.

Last year, Rosberg regained the championship lead with victory on his 200th championship start, just 0.488sec ahead of Daniel Ricciardo's Red Bull at the finish.

Subscribe to Motor Sport

Please select one of the following subscription offerings to gain uninterrupted access to over 92 years of Motor Sport archive.

Need to get in touch with Motor Sport Online?

Contact Us