Articles tagged Simon Pagenaud

Page 41 of December 2014 archive issue thumbnail Page 41, December 2014

Penske targets Aussie V8 Series

Gordon Kirby As history proves, it’s very difficult to stay on top over a sustained period of time in motor racing. Few teams last many years, in fact, and even the most established and well financed endure weak periods. We’re seeing it these days with Ferrari and McLaren in Formula 1, and Roush-Fenway, Richard Childress and Richard Petty Motorsports in NASCAR. Yet Team Penske continues to roll...

Page 43 of November 2014 archive issue thumbnail Page 43, November 2014

Gordon Kirby

Full power, brittle calendar... After knocking on the door for five years, Will Power (above) has at last won the IndyCar title. The Australian looked a likely champion in 2010, ’11 and ’12, only to throw away his chances in the closing stages. This year, his fifth with Team Penske, Power made as heavy work of the job as anyone in motor racing history, eking out his first IndyCar title by...

Page 127 of May 2014 archive issue thumbnail Page 127, May 2014

Sebring 12 Hours

Florida, USA At the first time of asking, Chip Ganassi has added victory in the Sebring 12 Hours to his triumphs as an entrant in the other blue-riband American motor races — the Indy 500, Daytona 500, Daytona 24 Hours and Brickyard 400. His team came out on top at the end of a thrilling second round of the United SportsCar Championship, in which no fewer than nine cars finished on the lead lap...

Page 35 of June 2010 archive issue thumbnail Page 35, June 2010

Gordon Kirby

Chasing new highs Duncan Dayton’s Highcroft team won last year’s American Le Mans Series with an Acura ARX-02a LMP1 driven by David Brabham and Scott Sharp, with Dario Franchitti joining them for the longer races. This year Dayton’s team is expected to repeat its championship success in a depleted field of prototypes. The demise of Acura’s P1 programme means that few, if any, LMP1 cars will...

Page 112 of January 2014 archive issue thumbnail Page 112, January 2014

Lunch with... Gil de Ferran

He never raced in F1 but achieved great success in America, and remains one of the foremost Brazilian racers of his generation.Writer Simon Taylor | Photographer James Mitchell There’s a history of young Brazilians who came over to learn the European motor racing way, grabbed everyone’s attention by winning the British Formula 3 Championship, and rapidly rose towards the upper slopes of Formula 1...

Page 22 of August 2011 archive issue thumbnail Page 22, August 2011

Le Mans 24 Hours

The 2011 Le Mans 24 Hours was one of the most exciting races at La Sarthe for many years. The winning Audi R18 of Marcel Fässler, André Lotterer and Benoît Tréluyer crossed the line a mere 13.854 seconds ahead of the second-placed car – the Peugeot 908 of Simon Pagenaud, Sébastien Bourdais and Pedro Lamy.  This was the closest finish since the Ford-Porsche duel of 1969, but how closely matched...

Page 24 of June 2009 archive issue thumbnail Page 24, June 2009

In brief

Porsche factory drivers Romain Dumas and Timo Bernhard have completed the driver line-up for Audi’s three-car attack on the Le Mans 24 Hours. The move reflects Porsche’s increasing influence over Audi parent, the VW Group. The proposed 2010 FIA GT1 World Championship could have as many as 12 races. Series boss Stephane Ratel says he has interest from four continents, which should take it as far...

Page 23 of March 2010 archive issue thumbnail Page 23, March 2010

In brief

* The works-backed Jaguar XKR GT2 built by the RSR squad has completed 2000 test miles, team boss Paul Gentilozzi has revealed. Marc Goossens, who drove the car on its ALMS debut last year, will share the lead XKR with two-time Grand-Am champion Scott Pruett at seven rounds. * The CRS Racing Ferrari team is moving to the Le Mans Series from the FIA GT Championship. Andrew Kirkaldy and Tim Mullen...

Page 21 of June 2012 archive issue thumbnail Page 21, June 2012

Long Beach Grand Prix

This year’s 38th running of the Long Beach Grand Prix produced victories for Team Penske and Will Power in Sunday’s IndyCar race and for Greg Pickett’s HPD ARX-03a driven in Saturday’s ALMS race by Lucas Luhr and Klaus Graf. Power took IndyCar’s championship lead after beating simon Pagenaud by less than a second, while Luhr and Graf dominated the ALMS race, winning easily from Rob Dyson’s Lola-...

Page 18 of June 2011 archive issue thumbnail Page 18, June 2011

Events of the Month

Sebring 12 HoursFlorida, USA Last year at Le Mans Hugues De Chaunac cried tears of despair after an engine failure cost his ORECA team victory. At Sebring in March, the tears flowed again but for very different reasons. De Chaunac is an emotional Frenchman who for many encapsulates the true spirit of modern sports car racing. ORECA's first-generation Peugeot 908 HDi FAP was an outside bet for...



August 2019
100 years, three cars, one epic track test



Sign up to our newsletters
The latest news, straight to your inbox – click below to sign up to the newsletter list.



The Motor Sport App
Carry Motor Sport with you, wherever you go. On iOS, Android and Kindle.


Noticed a mistake on this page?

Tell Us About It