Record 22-race calendar for 2020 F1 season is confirmed

by Dominic Tobin on 4th October 2019

F1's 2020 schedule is confirmed, with Hanoi and Zandvoort joining the calendar. "Unanimous support" claimed for extension to 22 races in the season

Ferrari unpacking at the 2018 F1 Australian Grand Prix

2021 set to see F1 teams on the road for an additional weekend Photo: Motorsport Images

Next year’s Formula 1 calendar has been confirmed and will include a record 22 races, with seven back-to-back race weekends.

The 2020 season includes the return of Zandvoort, in Holland, and a new street circuit in Hanoi, Vietnam as previously announced.

Hockenheim is the only track to be dropped from this year’s 21-race calendar, marking an end — for now — of the German Grand Prix.

The World Motor Sport Council approved the dates at a meeting in Cologne.

It means that the 2020 season will begin with the Australian Grand Prix on March 15: as with this year’s opener on the same race weekend.

The Vietnamese race slots between the Bahrain and Chinese Grands Prix, on April 5. Zandvoort then begins the European season on May 3.

F1 Hanoi track map

Hanoi joins the calendar in 2020 Image: F1

Azerbaijan is moved to later in the year on June 7, following the Monaco Grand Prix on May 24. The Canadian Grand Prix takes place on the same weekend as the Le Mans 24 Hours. The time difference means that the French race will have finished before the F1 cars leave the grid.

Silverstone retains its mid-July date, with the 2020 British Grand Prix due to be held on July 19.

As with this year, the 2020 season is due to end on the final weekend of November, in Abu Dhabi.

Related content

The confirmed race schedule is identical to the provisional F1 calendar, which was published in August

At the time, Chase Carey, Formula 1’s chairman and CEO, said that it had the “unanimous support” of teams, but some in the paddock already feel that there are too many races each year.

“It already feels like we are on race 25 this year, so I don’t think more races is a good thing,” said Lewis Hamilton at the end of the 21-race 2018 season.


F1 2020 confirmed calendar

March 15 Australia
March 22 Bahrain
April 5 Vietnam
April 19 China
May 3 Netherlands
May 10 Spain
May 24 Monaco
June 7 Azerbaijan
June 14 Canada
June 28 France
July 5 Austria
July 19 Great Britain
August 2 Hungary
August 30 Belgium
September 6 Italy
September 20 Singapore
September 27 Russia
October 11 Japan
October 25 United States
November 1 Mexico
November 15 Brazil
November 29 Abu Dhabi



November 2019
Ultimate Porsche: The Most Ruthless Racer Ever Built



Sign up to our newsletters
The latest news, straight to your inbox – click below to sign up to the newsletter list.



The Motor Sport App
Carry Motor Sport with you, wherever you go. On iOS, Android and Kindle.


Need to get in touch?

Contact Us