F1 database preview: form guide to the 2018 Brazilian Grand Prix

by Peter Higham on 8th November 2018

Which driver has the best record at Interlagos, and who tends to struggle in Brazil? Your preview, from the database

2018 Brazilian Grand Prix preview

The world championship has been decided at São Paulo on six occasions, but Lewis Hamilton has already clinched the title with rounds to spare for the third time in his Formula 1 career.

After winning the title in 2015 and ’17, his performance waned: In the combined five races that remained after he was confirmed as champion in those two years, Hamilton did not qualify on pole position or win (finishing second on four occasions).

His chances of victory in last year’s Brazilian Grand Prix were effectively ended by an accident in Q1 – the Mercedes driver recovering from 20th on the grid to finish fourth. He memorably secured his first title at the last corner of the 2008 Brazilian GP – at the expense of Felipe Massa – and won the race for the only time in 2016. That was also the only time Hamilton managed to out-qualify a team-mate here.

The only current F1 driver to have won the Brazilian GP more than once is Sebastian Vettel – winner in 2010, ‘13 and ‘17. He qualified second last year and decisively beat polesitter Valtteri Bottas into the first corner. Vettel has scored points for the last 10 years in Brazil and clinched his third title for Red Bull Racing here in 2012. If he leads 11 more laps, Vettel will match Michael Schumacher’s record of 236 laps led at Interlagos.

Ferrari team-mate Kimi Räikkönen won the 2007 race to be crowned champion, but the only time he has started the Brazilian GP from the front row was in 2006.


As for Red Bull, Max Verstappen has scored points in his three Brazilian GPs so far (including finishing third in 2016) and Daniel Ricciardo was sixth last year. But the team hasn’t led a lap here since 2014.

This will be Fernando Alonso’s 17th Brazilian GP but he has never won the race and has not led a lap here since 2008. He qualified on pole position in 2005 and clinched both his world titles (in 2005 and ‘06) in Brazil.

Nico Hülkenberg’s search for a podium finish continues but he has a solid record at Interlagos. The German qualified in a surprise pole position for Williams on his debut here in 2010 and has scored points in each of his seven Brazilian GPs so far. He led the race in 2012 and 2014 – that latter event the only time he has started outside the top 10.

Alain Prost holds the record for most wins in Brazil (six) and McLaren is the most successful constructor with 12 victories – one more than Ferrari.

Teams have medium, soft, and supersoft tyres to choose from in Brazil and there’s a 40 per cent chance of rain on Friday, rising to 50 per cent on the weekend.

Subscribe to the Mark Hughes newsletter to get the report straight to your inbox after the Brazilian Grand Prix




June 2019
Latest issue: Legends of Le Mans



Sign up to our newsletters
The latest news, straight to your inbox – click below to sign up to the newsletter list.



The Motor Sport App
Carry Motor Sport with you, wherever you go. On iOS, Android and Kindle.


Need to get in touch?

Contact Us