Skip navigation

Welcome to the Hall of Fame

The inaugural Motor Sport Hall of Fame evening took place in February 2010. Now approaching its fifth year, the event has found a new home at Covent Garden’s historic Royal Opera House – a suitably grand venue to honour some of racing’s greatest names.

The 2014 event, which coincides with Motor Sport‘s 90th anniversary year, took place on Wednesday January 29 at the Royal Opera House.

2014 inductees John McGuinness, Ross Brawn, Tom Hunt (on behalf of his father James) and Alain Prost

Our charity sale with RM Auctions was again in aid of the Grand Prix Mechanics Trust, raising £23,000.

Click here to view a gallery of the 2014 Hall of Fame event

In the US it has ever been the tradition to choose four inductees to a Hall of Fame each year and, with a sport as rich in heritage as motor racing, we hardly lack for choice. Eight founding members – Tazio Nuvolari, Enzo Ferrari, Juan Manuel Fangio, Stirling Moss, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart, Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher – were adopted, and then, for the inaugural ceremony, we chose Mario Andretti, Jacky Ickx, Tony Brooks and Ron Dennis.

From the beginning we were set on the idea that the Hall of Fame evening, while paying due respect to our sport’s revered personalities, should be an informal affair. Rather, the aim was to create the atmosphere of a club, where friends can meet for a glass or two of wine, where ties are optional.

Already the evening has become established on motor racing’s social calendar, and it delights us that so many of the sport’s great and good choose to join us in February every year.

Who would you induct in 2015?

Recent posts


On a wing and a prayer: the Lotus 79


A chance to drive the revolutionary ground-effect Lotus 79 was made even more nerve-wracking by the wintry conditions at Hethel…


Lunch with Tom Kristensen


He won Le Mans at his first attempt, and has barely been off the podium since then. Little wonder the Dane’s passion for La Sarthe still shines through


Damon Hill wins the 1996 World Championship


After an up-and-down 1995, the writing was on the wall for Damon Hill. He came into 1996 in the shape …

1984 Italian Grand Prix.

Niki Lauda, Part 2


Niki Lauda’s comeback and third World Championship with McLaren