Hall of Fame 2021 inductees revealed

You have voted and now we can reveal which legends of racing have a place in the Motor Sport Hall of Fame this year

Hall of Fame header

Motor Sport readers have voted in their thousands and we can now reveal the five motor racing figureheads you have chosen to enter our Hall of Fame. This year’s shortlist brought a tough test for voters, with every nominee excelling in their respective fields, all with achievements that most racers can only dream of. As usual, we were looking for more than just race victories and championships – and once again our readers have assiduously opted for individuals whose mark goes beyond results sheets. These are people who have shaped their sport as icons of their generation. Here are the 2021 Hall of Fame inductees…

Formula 1

Kimi Räikkönen

Formula 1’s most prolific driver, with a record number of starts. He won the 2007 world title

Kimi Raikkonen on the podium at 2007 Australian Grand Prix

It’s a sign of the affection in which Kimi Räikkönen is held that rival nominee Jenson Button encouraged his Twitter followers to vote for the Iceman. He convincingly won the Formula 1 category ahead of Button and Nico Rosberg.

Räikkönen retired after his record-setting 349th grand prix start at Abu Dhabi, the 2007 world champion still displaying flashes of the brilliance that earned him an F1 drive in 2001 after competing in just 23 car races.

But it’s his attitude to racing that connects him with other Hall of Fame legends. He was there simply for the thrill of racing. In a Motor Sport podcast recorded ahead of his final race, he said that he would have continued karting if he hadn’t found the funding for a single-seat career. And he’d probably have been just as happy.



Michèle Mouton

Blazed a trail for female rally drivers and now plays a major role at the FIA

Young Michele Mouton in 1978

Bin the self-help book: the career of Michèle Mouton is all you need to study for an example of how far natural talent and self-determination can get you. When her love of speed — nurtured with country-road drives in her father’s Porsche 911 — combined with rallying, the magic was clear.

She rapidly won several French and European women’s rally titles in the mid-1970s, but realised that she’d only be truly tested competing at the top level. Amid suspicion that her performances could only be down to a souped-up engine, Mouton made a name for herself in WRC. She was signed by Audi for its Quattro season in 1981 and can count herself unlucky to have missed out on the 1982 title.

She remains the only woman to have won a WRC round, with four victories in total.


Le Mans

Allan McNish

Three-time Le Mans winner, whose influence now stretches into Audi team management

Allan McNish celebrates Le Mans victory

Three Le Mans wins, three American Le Mans titles and the 2013 World Endurance Championship all point to an exceptional driver.

Related article

But it took moments to recognise his talent once you saw him in action: muscling his whispering diesel Audi R18 through lines of traffic at Le Mans with pace, aggression and caution in perfect balance.

His benchmark career was recognised by Hall of Fame voters, with almost two-thirds picking McNish in the Le Mans category, above David Brabham and Emanuele Pirro.

“I’m so proud to be recognised by the readers, because they’re very, very knowledgeable,” said the endurance racer-turned Formula E team boss. “They understand their stuff – they definitely know a Capello from a Kristensen from a McNish!”


US Racing

Scott Dixon

Six-time IndyCar champion and 2008 Indy 500 winner – and still going strong

Scott Dixon ahead of the 2020 Indy 500

Boasting longevity along with outright speed, Scott Dixon, now 41, has maintained an incredible level of competitiveness. He became CART’s youngest winner at 20 years old and, two years later, in 2003, claimed his first championship with Chip Ganassi Racing. It was the beginning of a hugely successful partnership.

An impressive 2008 included six wins, as well as a maiden Indianapolis 500 victory, on the way to a second championship. From then, the New Zealander’s IndyCar consistency has been unrivalled, finishing in the top three every year bar one up to 2018.

With his single victory in 2021, only AJ Foyt and Mario Andretti have a higher tally than his 51 wins. Nominees Hélio Castroneves and Jimmie Johnson will have to wait in line behind one of US racing’s all-time greats.



Charlie Whiting

Formula 1’s race director from 1997 until his death in 2019 was a pillar of the sport

Charlie Whiting portrait

Firm, fair and respected: if Charlie Whiting had never been born, he would still exist in the imagination as the quintessential F1 race director.

He was chief mechanic at Brabham during Bernie Ecclestone’s reign and grew into his role, becoming FIA technical delegate and then, from 1997, race director. His presence was felt from paddock to the gantry, a watching eye cast over all competitors. Footage of briefings show good-natured exchanges between race director and driver, although Whiting was never shy in setting firm boundaries.

This season has only highlighted the void that Whiting left following his death just ahead of the 2019 season. His legacy lives on: Whiting helped spearhead improvements in safety with the introduction of the survival cell and most recently the Halo device.

HoF Inductees headerView every racing legend in the Motor Sport Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame inductees


You may also like

Related products