How the Danes do Le Mans

by Web Editor on 25th July 2017

The seed of Denmark’s love affair with Le Mans was sowed 27 years ago, when John Nielsen shared victory with Martin Brundle and Price Cobb for Jaguar and Tom Walkinshaw Racing.

The win left an indelible mark on Tom Kristensen, who made that seed blossom. “I remember being at a karting event back home,” he said before sitting down for a Royal Automobile Club Talk Show earlier this year. “Everything stopped so we could watch him win Le Mans. It was massive.”

Just seven years later, a 29-year-old Kristensen won Le Mans at the first attempt – with just a few weeks’ notice.

Eight more wins later the baton has been handed to Jan Magnussen, Nicki Thiim, Marco Sørensen, Christina Nielsen and Michael Christensen to fly the Danish flag at Le Mans.

Thousands upon thousands of Danish fans make the pilgrimage every year, so Mobil 1: The Grid took a trip to the Danish campsites to find out more.

Subscribe to Motor Sport

Please select one of the following subscription offerings to gain uninterrupted access to over 92 years of Motor Sport archive.

Need to get in touch with Motor Sport Online?

Contact Us