MotoGP Dani Pedrosa fractured his hand after crashing in the first pre-season test at Sepang but will return for Jerez.

A1GP Christian Vietoris became the youngest-ever winner at Taupo, aged 18 years, nine months and 19 days. * Loic Duval scored Team France’s first win in 37 races, at Eastern Creek.

Le Mans Toyota has denied plans to return to the Le Mans 24 Hours in 2010 with a petrol-electric hybrid. n Jan Lammers is to return for the 21st time with CytoSport, racing a Lola.

Grand-Am Chip Ganassi Racing took its third straight Daytona 24 Hours win with Juan Pablo Montoya, Dario Franchitti, Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas.

NASCAR Jacques Villeneuve has split from his long-term manager, Craig Pollock. * Tony Stewart and Kurt Busch are on a six-race probation after an incident in practice for the Daytona 500.

GP2 Romain Grosjean won the Asia series opener in Dubai by more than 12 seconds. * Racing Engineering have signed Giorgio Pantano. * Adrián Vallés has been confirmed at Fisichella Motor Sport. * Super Nova Racing has signed Alvaro Parente and Christian Bakkerud.

ALMS Allan McNish and Dindo Capello will drive Audi’s number one car, with Alex Prémat and Mike Rockenfeller racing the second car. * The Shanghai 1000km race in November has been confirmed and the winner of each class will be invited to race at Le Mans in 2009. * In testing at Sebring, Peugeot was up to a second faster than Audi.

Champ Car Enrique Bernoldi is to make a return to single-seaters by racing with Rocketsports Racing. * Justin Wilson will take Sébastien Bourdais’ seat at the Newman/Haas/Lanigan team and race alongside Graham Rahal.

IRL The Indycar series has introduced paddle-shift gearboxes this season to replace the manual lever.

BTCC Unprecedented levels of coverage are promised on ITV1 and ITV4 this season, with a total of 76 hours of airtime. EF