BTCC New team Tempus Sport tested James Thompson in a 2008-spec Chevrolet Lacetti at Estoril and has expressed interest in signing the Brit for this season. n BTC Racing has confirmed its withdrawal and sold its pair of SEAT Toledos to Maxtreme.

WRC International Sportsworld Communicators has signed a 10-year contract to promote the series, starting from 2010.

NASCAR Richard Petty Motorsports has signed A J Allmendinger for the Sprint Cup. The American competed in five races for the team last year under its previous guise, Gillet Evernham Motorsports. n Kevin Harvick won the Budweiser Shootout at Daytona after passing Jamie McMurray on the last lap.

Moto GP Casey Stoner beat Felipe Massa in an ice karting race during Ducati and Ferrari’s pre-season trip to Madonna di Campiglio. n Stoner topped the Sepang test, beating Valentino Rossi by 0.094 seconds.

GP2 Poleman Sergio Pérez took his maiden win for the Campos Team in the Bahrain sprint race, while Kamui Kobayashi won the feature race for DAMS, with team-mate Jérôme d’Ambrosio second. It was DAMS’s first one-two in the Asia series. n Ocean Racing Technology, a new team headed by ex-F1 driver Tiago Monteiro, has signed Karun Chandhok.

A1GP Team Ireland’s Adam Carroll led home Switzerland’s Neel Jani to win the Taupo sprint race. The order was reversed in the feature race, but Ireland still leads the standings.

Formula 2 Recent signings include: German F3 driver Jens Höing, Italian F3 champion Mirko Bortolotti, the Lithuanian Kazim Vasiliauskas, Formula BMW Europe driver Philipp Eng and Spanish F3 champ Germán Sánchez.

LMS The series now has a full entry list for 2009, with six different makes in LMP1, 10 in LMP2, three in LMGT1 and five in LMGT2.

Speedcar Marco Melandri joined the series for the Qatar event to race alongside Heinz-Harald Frentzen with Team Lavaggi.