The Scottish Six Days' Trial

Comparatively few Failures over a Difficult Course. Inverfarigaig included at the Last Moment Instead of the Devil’s Elbow.

The field of a hundred and eleven entries for this classic event, promoted by the Edinburgh and District Motor Club, comprised sixteen cars, three three-wheel cyclecars, sixteen motor cycle sidecar combinations, and seventy-six solo motor cycles. A last minute change in the course, brought in Inverfarigaig instead of the Devil’s Elbow, and if this was not exactly a case of escaping the devil to find oneself in the deep sea, there are probably few competitors who now think that the change was for the better.

At any rate, as events proved, the motor cyclists at least had no cause to be thankful, as there were no fewer than sixteen failures on that hill, and in all twenty-nine riders lost their chances of silver cups on. the first day, in which this particular stretch was included.

The cars evidently found Inverfarigaig less of a teaser than Amulree, which severely tested one or two four-wheelers, including Hill’s Rhode, and Leno’s Hampton. Paxman overturned his Frazer-Nash, but was able to right it and get going again. The other Rhodes, the Rileys and the Galloways, all made good on this stretch, as did D. S. Milne, on his Morris-Cowley.

The second day, notwithstanding the inclusion of Diabaig, may almost be said to have established a record for the Scottish Trials, since during that day only one competitor retired, and only two lost marks. No doubt this was, in part, due to the favourable weather which prevailed.

The morning of Wednesday saw a temporary return of the bad weather : conditions improved later, however, and on the whole there was no real reason to complain. Several competitors, principally those on cars, were baulked on Tornapress by others of their fellows who were not able to proceed quite as fast. The B.S.A. and the McKenzie were two of these.

Few failures occurrred on this day. A motor cycle had to retire with a broken chain, and one of the Morgans had an accident which bent its front axle, putting it out of the trial. An error in the route marking of the course, for the fourth day, rather upset some of the calculations, both of the competitors and of the judges.

On the fifth day, in which was included the ascent of Loch Losgoinn and Ford, there were several failures, as well as several outstanding successes, such as, amongst cars, those of the Rileys and McKenzies, and, amongst motor cycles, Rudges, Ariels, and New Imperials.

After what had been done, the sixth day provided what seemed, in comparison, a picnic. The cars, at any rate, simply toured it, and what mishaps there were amongst the cycles were obviously development of the previous gruelling which they had received.

In the car class, Silver Cups went to Major W. H. Oates (Lagonda) ; D. S. Milne (Morris-Cowley) ; V. G. Wallsgrove (Riley) ; Martin V. de Satge (Riley) ; A. R. Croal (Ariel) ; J. M. Inglis (Alvis) ; D. Pullinger (Galloway). Gold Medals went to W. Baker (Galloway) ; B. Allan Hill (Rhode) ; Jas. Holt (G.W.K.). Silver Medals were awarded to A. W. Brittain (B.S.A. ) ; and J. W. Lena (Hampton). A Bronze Medal went to E. P. Paxman (Frazer-Nash).

In the motor cycle class Silver Cups were awarded to : A. L. Downie, E. W. Choldcroft, J. Stirling, and A. F. Downie, all on A. J.S. machines, the last named being a sidecar outfit ; W. Woodcock, A. E. Rollason, H. C. Nias and L. U. Stannah, on Ariels ; E. R. Jacobs, A. Symes, and G. W. Shepherd, on Beardmore-Precision; F. P. Dickson, on a Brough-Superior ; K. J. Davis, B. L. Bird, and H. S. Perrey, on B.S.A. machines ; J. W. Burton, on a Coventry Eagle ; B. H. Cathrick, on a Dunelt ; L. Crisp and M. G. A. Seally, on Humbers ; G. S. Arter, J. Lidstone, and G. Kimberley, an James ; R. C. Lawson and W. H. Hardman, on Matchless ; H. F. S. Morgan, on a Morgan ; B. Bourke and R. Duncan, on New Hudsons ; J. S. D. Price and T. K. Hubbard, on New Imperials ; R. L. Galloway, on a New Scale ; G. M. Black, on a Norton ; J. A. Leyland, on a P. & M. Panther ; Miss M. Cottle, H. W. Clark, and H. Gibson, on Raleighs ; J. R. Alexander, H. Alexander, and S. M. Greening, on Royal Enfields ; S. C. Hubbard, B. E. Belfield, and F. T. Sibley, on Rudges ; J. Shepherd, G. Dance, and N. P. O. Bradley, on Sunbeams ; W. Westwood, on a Triumph ; W. T. Tiffen, on a Velocette ; W. J. Wood, on a W.A.G. ; and H. W. Harrington, on a Zenith.

Gold Medals went to : L. Newey, on an Arid; E. Eland, on a B.S.A.; J. W. Maxon, on a Francis-Barnett ; A. Peffers, on an Indian Scout ; Miss L. Ball, on a James ; A Pattison and P. B. Purvis, on New Hudsons ; J. G. Baker, on a Raleigh ; J. T. Campbell, on a Sparkbrook.

Silver Medals were awarded to : H. Gaskell and R. S. Hector, on A. J.S. ; Mrs. M. C. Jenninson, on Brough-Superior and Sidecar ; B. H. Wishaw, on a B.S.A.; E. A. Barnett, on a Francis-Barnett ; H. Turner, on a Humber ; F. Spouse, on a Morgan ; J. Gray, on a New Imperial ; W. S. C. Walker, on a Norton ; C. H. Turner, on a P. & M. Panther ; R. J. Braid, on a Raleigh ; V. Belfield, on a Rudge ; H. Taylor, on a Scott ; F. V. Wood, on a W.A.G. ; and F. G. Adams, on a Zenith.

Bronze Medals went to : F. W. Giles, on an A. J.S. ; V. P. Crosthwaite, on a Beardmore-Precision; and J. Mitchell, on a Sunbeam.