1926 Belgian Grand Prix results




The premier Belgian motor-cycle road race proved another triumph for the British machine, which finished first in 3 out of the the 4 classes, a British engine also accounting for the remaining (175 c.c.) class.

J. A. Porter, after breaking his frame in a collision before the race, stayed up all night with Freddy Dixon, who was also riding, and effected a repair which enabled him to win his class at 58 m.p.h.., for 185 miles.

G. S. Davison finished second in this class on a New Imperial. The 350 c.c. class was won by F. A. Longman, on a 350 c.c. A.J.S., at 61.06 m.p.h. for the 222 miles, after a struggle with W. L. Handley (Rex Acme), who was forced to retire. Gold medals also went to Putz (Sunbeam) 2nd, Demulder (Indian) 3rd, and Whalley (Douglas) 4th.

Chief interest centred on the 500 c.c. class in which Stanley Woods (Norton) and J. H. Simpson (A.J.S.) fought out a terrific duel for many laps. Simpson eventually drew away and Woods lost still more owing to a puncture. The result was—

(I) J. H. Simpson (A.J.S.), 67.9 m.p.h.

(2) R. Kamer (Sunbeam).

(3) S. Woods (Norton).

(4) S. 011erhead (Rudge).

(5) G. Nott (Rudge).

(6) G. Stobart (Sarolea).

Distance 259 miles.

J. Milhoux, on a Ready-BLackburne, won the 175 c.c class at 48.63 m.p.h.