Reports in brief, August 2004



Dessie Nutt and Geraldine McBride maintained their 100 per cent record by winning round five of the Armajaro MSA British Historic Rally Championship, the Mid-Wales Stages. Fending off a stem challenge from the similar Porsche 911 of Francis Tuthill, Nutt clinched the historic category. David Stokes/Den Golding (Escort Mkl) stormed the post-historic category (below), leading from the start Championship leader Ray Bellm retired with engine failure.

* * *

Ernie Graham/Robin Kellard clinched maximum HRCR Classic Stage Rally Championship points on the Mid-Wales Stages in their Escort. After a long tussle with the Mk2 Escort of Gareth Lloyd/Ryland James, Graham scooped his second win in just over a month after nine special stages in the Hafren area.

* * *

Casper Elgaard claimed a Group C/GTP double at the Nürburgring in late June during the Jan Wellem Pokal meeting. The Dane’s Kremer Racing Porsche 962CK6 battled with the similar car of Simon Pullan in each of the races. Third-place finishes went to David Mercer (Spice SE90C) and Brian DeVries (Intrepid RM-1).

* * *

Mark Woodhouse (Lotus 20) claimed victory when the AMOC Formula Junior Championship made a rare visit to Thruxton. From the outside of the front row, Woodhouse went ahead to win by almost l0sec, while Anthony Binnington (Cooper T67) and Edwin Jowsey (Lotus 22) completed the podium.