NASCAR Kasey Kahne took back-to-back wins at Lowe’s Motor Speedway, with victory in the All-Star Challenge and the Coca Cola 600. Kyle Busch won the Nationwide race.
Busch won his fourth Sprint Cup Series race of 2008 at Dover.
Scott Speed scored his first stock car win at Dover in the Craftsman Truck Series and took pole for the ARCA race at Pocono.

GP2 Bruno Senna put the family name back on Monaco’s winners’ list with victory in the Feature race. The Sprint race was won by Briton Mike Conway.
Lucas di Grassi, Renault F1’s third driver, has replaced Ben Hanley at Campos Racing for the remainder of the season.
Marko Asmer, BMW Sauber’s test driver, is replacing Adam Carroll at the FMS International Team.

WRC Prodrive boss David Richards has confirmed that Subaru will run two teams of Impreza WRCs next year.

FIA Michael Schumacher has been made chairman of the new Motor Sport Safety Development Fund, which has been created to “manage the distribution of motor sport safety-related grants from the FIA’s $60 million share of the $100m fine imposed on McLaren last year”.

WTCC Augusto Farfus won his and BMW’s first race of the year in the opener at Pau. Andy Priaulx then took his first victory of the season in race two.

BTCC Jason Plato was disqualified from race one at Thruxton after failing a ride height test. Plato criticised officials for failing his car after it was involved in a collision. SEAT has since withdrawn his complaints.
Clyde Valley Racing will make its debut in 2009 with two biofuel SEAT Leons.

IRL Penske’s Ryan Briscoe won at Milwaukee Mile (see main story).

ALMS Acura driver Gil de Ferran went from the back of the grid to third at Miller Motorsports Park on his series debut, finishing behind the two Penske Porsches.

Enduro Carlos Sainz finished second in class in a Volkswagen Scirocco at the Nürburgring 24 Hours, in a four-driver team including Hans-Joachim Stuck.