TT stages first electric bike GP

In its 102nd year, the Isle of Man TT made way for electric motorbikes to create the world’s first zero carbon ‘eGrandPrix’, the TTXGP.

Rob Barber, racing for AGNI X01 in the Best Buy Pro Class, won the event at an average speed of 87.4mph over the 37.5-mile Mountain course, while Chris Heath – racing for Electric Motorsport – won the Open Class at 66mph.

That compares to an average speed of 130.4mph achieved by Superbike Class victor John McGuinness, who took his 15th IoM win on an HM Plant Honda. TTXGP founder Aazhar Hussain was delighted with the performance of the groundbreaking bikes. “Today represents the culmination of an incredibly long journey to the world’s first zero carbon eGrandPrix,” he said. “Together we have proved that zero carbon transport technology has the capability to thrill motor racing fans and is ready for application in the real world.”