Attwood and 917 for Le Mans Classic

Richard Attwood will reprise his 1970 Le Mans win by driving a Porsche 917 in this year’s Le Mans Classic (July 9-11). Forty years on from taking Porsche’s first victory in the 24-hour enduro with Hans Herrmann, Attwood will share a 917 with Vern Schuppan.

The 2010 event line-up includes three 917s and 11 Ford GT40s in an entry of over 400 cars. Fellow former Le Mans winner Henri Pescarolo will drive an Inaltera in the races for the most recent cars from 1973-79. Other star drivers include GT racers Jamie Campbell-Walter, Bobby Verdon-Roe and Rob Barff, while former Le Mans racer John Sheldon will campaign his Chevron B16.

The field will split into six grids, each with a full 68-car entry. Each grid will have three 80-minute races in a 24-hour period, starting at 4pm on Saturday. Over 1000 drivers are due to take part.

One of the oldest cars in action will be the 1923 Montier T, part of Ford’s first assault on the race in 1923. Tony Dron will be one of the drivers.