Electric World Cup

T Zero, MotoE makes for high-profile electric two-wheeled racing

As in the four-wheeled world, electric racing is coming to ’bikes.

The TT has embraced the format in recent years with its TT Zero race. American Mark Miller won the first event in 2010 aboard a MotoCzysz E1pc, lapping the 38-mile course averaging 97mph. Michael Rutter has since collected five Zero TT wins, and this year also broke the lap record of 119.279mph set by John McGuiness, with a 121.824mph lap for Team Mugen.

MotoGP is climbing on board the battery bandwagon in 2019 with the arrival of the MotoE World Cup. Tech 3, Marc VDS and Pramac are among the teams signed up, as is Rossi’s Sky Racing Team by VR46.

The Energica Ego Corsa ’bike will hit 60mph inside three seconds and reach 155mph, and recharge to within 85 per cent in 20 minutes.

Expect short – quiet – races to support MotoGP from 2019 onwards, with demo laps at selected races this year.