Goodwood House was where His Grace the Duke of Richmond and Gordon spent a great deal of time with his parents when, as the Earl of March, he was racing Austin and MG cars at Brooklands and elsewhere, although he then lived and worked in London; he had indeed, been, apprenticed to Bentley Motors Ltd. Goodwood House became his home in 1935, after the death of his father. Today it is the home of Lord March and his family and is opened to the public, who are able to look over part of it and take dinner and supper in the State Apartments. Built between 1780 and 1800 to the plans of architect James Wyatt, Goodwood House is an example of the best Sussex flintwork. During recent renovations one wing was demolished, as it was suffering from dry rot. Eleven State Apartments are on view, of which the Ballroom Suite is available for social or business functions. The house contains one of the finest private collections of paintings (among which one hopes there is at least one of His Grace in a racing car !). In the Tapestry Drawing Room, Her Majesty the Queen has held meetings of her Privy Council while in residence at Goodwood for the July horse-racing. During the war Goodwood House was a hospital and later a RAMC depot. Today the Duke and Duchess live at Carne’s Seat, about half-a-mile away on the 12,000-acre estate.