In brief, December 2007

The Chevron B38 in which Elio de Angelis won the 1978 Monaco F3 race will return to the tracks in 2008 in the hands of Classic F3 racer Paul Smith. Chassis 001 is thought to have been un-raced for 30 years.

Björn Waldegård will head the 60-strong East African Safari Classic Rally field away in late November. The former Safari winner will drive a Ford Escort Mk1, with the similar car of fellow Swede Stig Blomqvist starting as car three.

The annual Andrew Whyte Memorial Lecture on Sunday November 25, at the Heritage Motor Centre in Gaydon, celebrates Ecurie Ecosse and its historic 1957 Le Mans win.

British crew Ernie Graham and Alec Cooper won the 2007 FIA Historic Rally Championship in a Ford Escort Mk2, repeating the success they enjoyed two years earlier in a Mk1 Escort.

The Historic Rally Car Register has launched a new stage rally series for 2008, solely for pre-68 cars. Running alongside the British Championship, the new series offers a lower level set of events for older cars.