Track back

40/30/20/10 years ago

Tommi Mäkinen wins the Swedish Rally aboard his Mitsubishi Lancer, but Carlos Sainz provides a stern challenge to finish just 23sec adrift in Escort.

It’s a close Daytona 24 Hours, with the Porsche 962 of Al Holbert/Derek Bell/AI Unser Jnr less than a lap up on the similar car of Foyt/Sullivan/Luyendyk.

Despite some water contaminating the fuel of their BMW CSL, Brits Brian Redman and John Fitzpatrick combine with American sportscar star Peter Gregg to win the Daytona 24 Hours.

BRMs dominate the Australian Grand Prix at Lakeside, but Jackie Stewart drops out at the Queensland track with a gearbox breakage. Graham Hill wins from Frank Gardner.