Walker is fastest runner



BRDC Historic Sportscar Championship

For much of the season the BRDC Historic Sportscar Championship delivered some of the best racing In the historic arena. Notable players were eventual champion Philip Walker (Lotus 15), Graeme Dodd (Cooper Monaco) and Julian Bronson (Lister-Chevrolet).

Sadly the atmosphere was tainted by a robust battle at Oulton Park in August, when Dodd caught Walker after a relentless chase back from a first-lap spin. Though Dodd got ahead, there was contact and Walker was left seething over the situation.

Nonetheless, Walker went on to clinch the title, winning the Spa final, while Dodd had certainly made his mark in his first year in the championship. Running the ex-Ted Williams car, Dodd won more races (five) than anyone. Gary Pearson drove beautifully to win the two opening races at Silverstone in his Lister-Jaguar.

In the smaller cars, class champion Rupert Whyte (Lotus Eleven), John Clark (Lola Mk1) and Jamie McIntyre (Rejo) had some great battles.