Hall of Fame

Meet star names from the past at Race Retro

Visitors to Race Retro, the historic motor sports show, will be able to experience for the first time, three days of ‘live’ Hall of Fame entertainment ahead of 2017’s event at the Royal Automobile Club. Motor Sport magazine has teamed up with Race Retro to create a dedicated hall that contains the Motor Sport Live Stage where visitors can watch interviews with Hall of Fame inductees and stars from the world of motor sport, and enjoy stunning displays of the cars and bikes that carried them to victory. 

The hall will also feature a collection of Cosworth DFV-powered race cars, to celebrate 50 years since one of the world’s most iconic engines made its debut on the track.

 The collection, which includes a Williams FW08, has been curated by Mike Costin, who along with Keith Duckworth gave his name to the powerplant. “I am delighted to be involved in this display,” said Costin, “and look forward to being reunited with some star cars from the past.”

 The 40th anniversary of the re-opening of Donington Park will also be celebrated and the Donington Grand Prix Collection’s ex-Moss/Brooks 1957 Vanwall will be on display.

 The Motor Sport stage will feature some big sporting names – join the lively debate on who should be inducted into the Hall of Fame when the awards ceremony takes place next June.

 Race Retro runs from February 24-26 at Stoneleigh Park, about six miles from Coventry, and covers all disciplines from F1 to the grass roots, with fantastic displays by motor sport clubs from around the UK.

Vote: who will be next?

Voting is now open to decide who should be inducted into the Hall of Fame for the motorcycling category. The short list was decided on November 24, when Ed Foster, Motor Sport’s online editor, sat down with Freddie Spencer, two-time 500 GP world champion, at the National Motorcycling Museum to pick 12 names. The list, after much lively discussion, features Barry Sheene, Kevin Schwantz, Kenny Roberts, Wayne Rainey, Freddie Spencer, Eddie Lawson, Mike Hailwood, Joey Dunlop, Mick Doohan, Geoff Duke and Soichiro Honda.

To listen to the podcast visit www.motorsportmagazine.com/podcasts

You can also cast your vote on that link