Segrave Trophy to Hailwood

Former World Champion motor-cycle racer and Grand Prix driver Mike Hailwood, fourteen times a Manx TT winner, has been awarded the Segrave Trophy for 1979 following his comeback in which he won the Senior TT and was only narrowly beaten into second place in the Classic TT.

Announcing the award, Lord Camden, Chairman of the Segrave Committee, said the Castrol-sponsored Trophy, which is awarded annually to the British subject who accomplishes the most outstanding demonstration of the possibilities of transport by land, air or water, was being given to Hailwood "for a classic farewell to TT racing in winning the Senior event and gaining second place in the classic — and for his immaculate attitude, which has set a fine example to all youngsters taking up the sport".

The trophy is awarded in memory of Sir Henry Segrave, and "Mike the Bike" joins an illustrious band of previous winners, including Malcolm and Donald Campbell, Captain George Eyston, Stirling Moss, Amy Johnson, Jackie Stewart, Barry Sheene, Bert Hinkler, John Cobb, Geoff Duke and Peter (Speedway) Collins.