VSCC Colerne Speed Trials

Always a popular event, at which the terminal velocity of the competing cars is established, on June 9, Ivan Dutton (1929 Bugatti) won the Colerne Trophy, with FTD in 24.91 seconds. Fastest lady Miss Burrell (Bentley-Royce) with a time of 28.92 sec., and the quickest saloon car was Mrs. Daniels’s 1916 40/40 hp Rolls-Royce, in 52.45 sec. The class winners were: Mrs. Hogg (Aston Martin), R. Spiers (Alvis), R. Drewitt (Riley), S. Mann (Bentley), J. Gallis (GN-Ariel), M. Sayers (Riley), Dutton of course, K. Payne (Cooper-Bristol), and C. Collings (1903 Mercedes). The vintage sub-divisions were won by P. Selwyn-Smith (Frazer Nash), H. Conway (Bugatti), C. Delaney (LeaFrancis), Mann (Bentley aforesaid), A. Hall (A7) and D. Caroline (Morgan three-wheeler), with Dutton upholding vintage honour with the Bugatti. There were the usual frolics with ‘penny-farthing’ bicycles and a class for girder-fork pre-1960 motorcycles which Caroline won. The course-record still stands to the credit of Felton’s Alfa Romeo (22.97 sec.) and the vintage-car course record to the late Bob Roberts in the Sunbeam Tiger 23.22 sec, these not having been bettered this year. WB