IRL Pacific Coast Motorsports, the former Champ Car team, will start competing in the IRL IndyCar Series from the Indianapolis 500 onwards, with driver Mario Dominguez.
Dan Wheldon took advantage of a well-timed pitstop during a caution period to win the Indy 300 at Kansas Speedway.

GP2 The Renault World Series Champion Alvaro Parente won on his debut in the season-opening feature race at Barcelona.

NASCAR Ex-Formula 1 driver Scott Speed won his first ARCA series race, and his first race since 2004, at Kansas Speedway. n Dario Franchitti fractured his left ankle after a front tyre blew in the Nationwide Series race at Talladega Speedway. He was replaced by veteran Ken Schrader for the Sprint Cup race at Richmond.
Juan Pablo Montoya came home second, behind Kyle Busch, in the Sprint Cup race at Talladega. Tony Stewart won his third race of 2008 in the Nationwide event after leading 80 of the 117 laps.

Le Mans Team Modena, which is racing an Aston Martin DBR9 this year, has added ex-F1 driver Christian Fittipaldi to its line-up of Jos Menten and Terry Borcheller.

A1GP Series chairman Tony Texeira, who expressed interest in owning a Formula 1 team to promote the World Cup of Motorsport, has decided that there is little point in buying into F1 following the outlawing of customer cars.
Team Switzerland’s Neel Jani secured the 2007/08 title with a fourth place in the sprint race at Brands Hatch, which Robbie Kerr won, moving Team GBR from fourth in the standings to third, one point behind New Zealand. n Narain Karthikeyan gave Team India its second A1GP win with victory in the feature race at Brands. Karthikeyan won earlier in the season in China.

BTCC Jason Plato became the first person to win in a diesel-powered car in the BTCC at Donington Park. Vauxhall’s Fabrizio Giovanardi won race two, while Plato’s SEAT team-mate Darren Turner scored his first victory of the season in the third and final race of the weekend.