Two-Stage Freikaiserwagen Makes F.T.D. at Blandford

The West Hants and Dorset C.C. deserves the highest credit in respect of its hill-climb at Blandford on May 28th. The kilometre course permitted high speeds and possessed two exciting corners, times were promptly announced, refreshments were available, a carefree Antone commentary was provided by Curtis and Tubbs, and admission was only 2s. 6d.

Incidents were many, for the top corner proved difficult and Finch (Amilcar) spun round, as did Page (Cooper) and Jesty (Allard), while others who skidded, left the course or motored on the grass, included Henry (Lagonda), Brandon (Cooper), Mould (ex-Rowley Bugatti), Richards (Riley), Hartwell (Cooper-H.R.D.), Col. Ridley (M.G.), Taylor (Caesar), Lee (Bugatti), and Leston (Jaguar). The only "casualty" was Mrs. Onslow Bartlett, who fainted when her Mercury slid with all wheels locked and leapt high into the air over the grass verge. The car burst a tyre, bent its front axle and ran amongst the crowd, but no one was hurt and Mrs. O. B. soon recovered.

J. G. Fry made f.t.d. in the 650 lb., twin Marshall-blown V-twin Freikaiserwagen, displaying immense acceleration, and braking effectively for the top bend - 31.13 sec., of approximately 71 m.p.h. Poore, in his Alfa-Romeo, was second-fastest (31.27 sec.), using single rear tyres and correcting power slides, Merrick (Alta) third (31.49 sec.) and Allard fourth (32.32 sec.) winning the Hambro Cup for fastest non-supercharged car. Sports car class winners were Woods' M.G.; Ruddock's Meadows-H.R.G.; Hern (Amilcar Six); Leonard (M.G.), who suffered nasty front wheel patter; Bartlett (Mercury), after a tussle against Allard's alloy-wheeled, alloy-head, twin carburetter Allard; and Carter's "2.6" Alfa-Romeo. Mrs. Allard, in the aforesaid Allard, won the Elliott Cup. Moss' Cooper convincingly won the 500-c.c. racing-car class, Hartwell drove his Cooper-H.R.D. very nicely, Lent's ex-Humphries Q-type M.G. won its class, as did Smith's Bugatti. Fry took the Poole Trophy and £50, Merrick the Sheriff's Cup and £25, Moss the 500 Cup, Bartlett £25 for fastest sports car, Mrs. Jesty the Deakin Cup, Hartwell the Martin Cup and Chamber of Trade's Cup. By kind permission of Lt.-Col. Saunders, O.B.E., the W.H. & D.C.C. will hold races at this venue on August 27th, including a 95-mile Formula II race.

Sports Cars up to 1,100-c.c. Non-S/C and up to 750-c.c. S/C. - 1st: L. J. Woods (1,086-c.c. M.G.), 40.42 sec.
Sports Cars, 1,100-1,500-c.c. Non-S/C and up to 750-c.c. S/C. - 1st: G. A. Ruddock (1,496-c.c. H.R.G.), 39.21 sec.
Sports Cars, 1,501-2,000-c.c. Non-S/C and 851-1,100-c.c. S/C. - 1st: V. J. Hern (1,100-c.c. s/c Amilcar), 37.75 sec.
Sports Cars, 2,001-3,000-c.c. Non-S/C and 1,1011,500-c.c. S/C. - 1st: L. Leonard (1,425-c.c. S/C M.G.), 38.35 sec.
Sports Cars, 3,001-4,000-c.c. Non S/C and 1,501-2,000-c.c. S/C. - 1st: L. J. O. Bartlett (3,917-c.c. Mercury), 35.68 sec.
Sports Cars Over 4,000-c.c. Non-S/C and Over 2,000-c.c. S/C. - 1st: K. E. Carter (2,600-c.c. s/c Alfa-Romeo), 38.21 sec.
Lady Competitors - 1st: Mrs. Allard (3,622-c.c. Allard), 39.20 sec.
Racing Cars up to 500-c.c. - 1st: S. Moss (497-c.c. Cooper-S.A.P.), 35.62 sec.
Racing Cars, 751-1,100-c.c. Non-S/C. - 1st: G. R. Hartwell (988-c.c. Cooper-H.R.D.), 33.00 sec.
Racing Cars, 1,101-1,500-c.c. Non-S/C and 750-c.c. S/C. - 1st: G. E. Lant (746-c.c. s/c M.G.), 37.11 sec.
Racing Cars, 1,501-2,000-c.c. Non-S/C and 751-1,100-c.c. S/C. - 1st: J. G. Fry (1,097-c.c. s/c Freikaiserwagen), 31.13 sec., f.t.d.
Racing Cars, 2,001-3,000-c.c. Non-S/C and 1,101-1,500-c.c. S/C. - 1st: S. J. Smith (1,492-c.c. s/c Bugatti), 35.50 sec.
Racing Cars Over 3,000-c.c. Non-S/C and Over 1.500-c.c. S/C. - 1st: R. D. Poore (3,800-c.c. s/c Alfa-Romeo), 31.27 sec.