Sunbeam S.T.D. Register Talbot Rally (Mar.26th)

Author

admin

View profile
Browse pages
Current page

1

Current page

2

Current page

3

Current page

4

Current page

5

Current page

6

Current page

7

Current page

8

Current page

9

Current page

10

Current page

11

Current page

12

Current page

13

Current page

14

Current page

15

Current page

16

Current page

17

Current page

18

Current page

19

Current page

20

Current page

21

Current page

22

Current page

23

Current page

24

Current page

25

Current page

26

Current page

27

Current page

28

Current page

29

Current page

30

Current page

31

Current page

32

Current page

33

Current page

34

Current page

35

Current page

36

Current page

37

Current page

38

Current page

39

Current page

40

Current page

41

Current page

42

Current page

43

Current page

44

Current page

45

Current page

46

Current page

47

Current page

48

Current page

49

Current page

50

Current page

51

Current page

52

Current page

53

Current page

54

Current page

55

Current page

56

Current page

57

Current page

58

Current page

59

Current page

60

Current page

61

Current page

62

Current page

63

Current page

64

Current page

65

Current page

66

Current page

67

Current page

68

Current page

69

Current page

70

Current page

71

Current page

72

Current page

73

Current page

74

Current page

75

Current page

76

The Sunbeam S.T.D. Register held a rally for its Talbot members at the “Toby Jug” on the Kingston By-Pass on the wet evening of March 26th. Mr. Arthur Fox, patron of the Talbot racing team prior to 1933, very kindly turned up with his Sales Manager. Mr. Mann, to meet the owners of the sixteen London Talbots which assembled in the car park. He then conducted them to the showrooms of Fox & Nicholl, where he had on display hundreds of excellent photographs of the old racing days, mainly of his Talbot 90 and 105 exploits, but including some reminders of the 4½-litre Lagondas and six-cylinder Singer which Fox & Nicholl raced with conspicuous success. Members also admired the very full showcase of pre-war trophies, mainly won with Talbot cars.

Georges Roesch, the Talbot designer of those days, was a popular visitor, and John Bland not only dispensed advice to Talbot owners with problems but brought his own display, in the form of a big case of medals, many of them solid gold, won by Clement-Talbot in pre-1914 competitions, offsetting this by opening a 1907 issue of The Motor illustrating this showcase.

After they had examined these displays members inspected Comdr. Harris’ 1930 Talbot 90 sports-tourer in the Fox & Nicholl works — he has owned this car since he was 19 and its excellent condition and silent-running engine were the more impressive for that. This is the car Georges Roesch drove round Goodwood during last year’s memorable V.S.C.C. 21st Birthday Party.

Amongst the Talbots at the “Toby Jug” were representatives of almost all the Roesch models, including Mockridge’s 1935 “Airline 105” which brought Mr. Roesch, Macworth’s 1933 105 with replica racing body, and Maughan’s 105 saloon which has the engine from Arthur Fox’s Brooklands single-seater and the same high gear ratios, its four-door saloon body with trunk having been designed by Mr. Fox and adopted by Talbot as a standard model. Members came from as far afield as Seaford to hear Mr. Fox recall the competition hey-day of the London-built Talbots, including his entry in the Mille Miglia, and there will be a “repeat performance” of this very enjoyable evening in June, when Fox & Nicholl are generously providing the hospitality. Hon. Registrar: Mrs. W. Boddy, Carmel, Wood Lane, Fleet. Hampshire. 

Related articles

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor invidunt ut labore et dolore

Related products

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor invidunt ut labore et dolore