Kenseth and Roush return to form

Matt Kenseth’s victory in this year’s Daytona 500 was very fulfilling for both the driver and Jack Roush’s Roush Fenway Ford team. It was the first win at Daytona for the 2003 NASCAR champion and Roush’s long-standing squad, which is looking like a championship contender once more this year, especially after Kenseth won again in California the following weekend.

Roush Fenway fields no fewer than five Fords for Kenseth, Carl Edwards, Greg Biffle, Jamie McMurray and David Ragan. Edwards, runner-up to Jimmie Johnson in last year’s series, is many fans’ favourite to win the 2009 title. In 2010 NASCAR will enforce a four cars-per-team limit, forcing Roush to shed one of his number.