Tourist Trophy - Silverstone

There was no mistaking the aggregate winner of the 37th Tourist Trophy Race. This BMWI Alpina 3.0 CSL won both two-hour heats. Austrian journalist Harald Ertl driving in the first in such commanding style that he was awarded the Driver of the Day Award and Derek Bell doing the honours in the second heat. Jochen ‘ Mass (works Capri RS) and Dieter Quester (works 3.0 CSL) enthralled the crowd with one of the finest dices seen in motor racing this year (below). Rafael Barrios/Emilio Zapico took their Garvey Sherry-sponsored Escort to fifth overall and second in class on aggregate behind team-mates Jose Uriarte/Herve Leguellec in another Spanish-entered Escort. John Fitzpatrick’s works Capri, at bottom of page, is chased by Andy Rouse’s Broadspeed Capri, which bears the scars of a clash with Dieter Glemsers works Capri. The race was the 8th and final round of the E.T.C.