VSCC on the hills

At the VSCC Shelsley Walsh Hillclimb on July 8 Charles Dean’s T51 Bugatti made FTD in 35.86sec. Fastest vintage car was Dick Smith’s Frazer Nash (38.35sec) and Bruce Spollon drove the fastest ERA (R8C, in 36.08sec). Walford’s Mercer Receabout, a VSCC debutante, did 63.09sec.

At Mallory Park on July 16, the VSCC Bob Gerard Memorial Meeting saw Spencer Flack’s Cooper-Bristol win the Memorial race, at 87.65mph, by 1.53sec from White’s Cooper-Bristol. The Patrick Marsh race went to Geraint Owen’s DH Riley. An A7 scratch event had 14 starters, led home by Edward Way, there was a 24-car FJ race which Paul Dudley’s Lotus 22 won, and it was good that Nic Portway was first with the 1914 TT Humber in the Edwardian event Handicaps were won by Steele’s T35T Bugatti, Adams’ J4 MG, Mills’ A7 and by Tuer’s Morgan in the three-wheeler event. The remaining scratch race went to Baxter’s Frazer Nash.