Around the tracks

VSCC: Prescott

Dean's Bugatti scorches to the top

Charles Dean maintained his strong run of form to take FTD with his Bugatti Type 51 in the VSCC's traditional August hillclimb at Prescott

The hugely popular event was blessed with glorious weather for all but the latter runs and, in spite of the increasingly damp and slippery conditions, Dean stopped the clock at 43sec on his second run to clip 0.03sec off his drier, earlier time.

Second in the 3-litre class was Paul Richardson driving Donald Day's ERA R14B. But the nearest challenger for fastest time of the day came from the unlimited racing car class; Richard Scaldwell, with his ex-Mark Walker Parker-GN, took the class and fastest vintage of the day with a first run of 43.27sec — a moment at Pardon dashed any hopes of a later improvement. The customary sterling effort from Chris Williams netted second place in the class with the mighty Napier-Bentley.

Dick Smith (Frazer Nash Super Sports) took the 1500cc honours at 44.5sec from Ben Fidler (Lagonda Rapier Single Seater), a fraction faster than David Leigh with the ex-Basil Davenport GN Spider. The Hardy Special II behaved impeccably on both runs to give Tim Whellock victory in the 1100cc class, well clear of Michael Fitzmaurice (Austin 7).

David Baker broke his own record in the aero-engined Edwardian class with the immaculate Piccard-Pictet Special in a time of 47.13sec. Mark Walker won the automobile-engined category with a time of 53.12sec the magnificent 1908 GP Panhard.

Former club president Barry Clarke completed his 50th consecutive VSCC Prescott with a fourth place in his Austin 'Simplicity', the class going to Geraint Owen (Morris-JAP).

Other class winners on the day included Tom Walker (GN Special), Terry Rogers (Frazer Nash), Jeremy Fack (Brough Superior), Mike Sythes (BMW 328) and Ian Mahany (HRG).


VSCC: Mallory Park

Dazzling White claims Gerard Trophy

Kenneth White claimed the Bob Gerard Memorial Trophy for the third time in four years with his Cooper-Bristol at Mallory Park.

White, who failed to start last year because of suspension failure, saw off the challenge of Mac Hulbert in ERA R4D to scoop the major trophy of the day. Hulbert redoubled his efforts to depose the nimble Cooper over the closing laps, but had to finally give best as Charles Dean (Bugatti) and Paul Mullins (ERA R7B) completed the top four.

The Dick Baddiley Trophy for Edwardian Cars was another highlight and a generous handicap helped David Cooke to victory in his Minerva Special. Cooke's advantage kept him clear of the faster machines as Duncan Pittaway (Monarch) and Richard Scaldwell (Sunbeam Indianapolis) led the charge.

Scaldwell made up for losing his grip on the Baddiley Trophy by taking a clear Vintage Racing Car win in his GN Special, while Tim Kneller (Riley 9) clinched Vintage Sports Car honours; John Horton's Bugatti T43 finished second ahead of Hulbert, now aboard his Alvis Silver Eagle.

Finally, Edwin Jowsey (Lotus 22) added the John Taylor Memorial Trophy to his growing tally of Formula Junior successes.