Webber rewrites the record books with maiden GP win

By winning at his 130th attempt Mark Webber established a new record for the longest wait for a first Grand Prix victory when he triumphed in Germany.

Webber beat the previous record of 124 GPs, held by Brawn driver Rubens Barrichello. But he could yet lose the ‘honour’ to Nick Heidfeld, who logged his 160th Grand Prix appearance in Hungary.

Five other drivers have started more races than Webber without recording a win, namely Andrea de Cesaris (208), Martin Brundle (158), Derek Warwick (147), Jean-Pierre Jarier (135) and Eddie Cheever (132).

At 36 days short of his 33rd birthday, Webber became the oldest first-time GP winner since Thierry Boutsen triumphed in Hungary in 1990.

Webber also became only the third Australian Formula 1 winner, following Sir Jack Brabham and Alan Jones into the history books. It was the first victory for an Aussie since the last success for Jones with Williams in Las Vegas in 1981.