How to watch the MotoGP 2021 Grand Prix of Catalunya


Timings for practice and qualifying sessions as well as race start time for the 2021 MotoGP Grand Prix of Catalunya in Barcelona

2021 MotoGP Grand Prix of Catalunya

Times and TV guide for the 2021 Grand Prix of Catalunya

Studio Milagro / DPPI

Thoughts of Jason Dupasquier won’t be far from the minds of riders as they assemble in Barcelona following last weekend’s fatal Mugello crash.

Riders paid tribute to the 19-year-old Moto3 rider ahead of a race where Fabio Quartararo will be looking to consolidate his championship lead with a second Catalan GP victory in as many years.

Maverick Viñales has the task of getting back on terms with his team-mate after a disappointing race in Italy, while last-year’s polesitter, Franco Morbidelli is hoping for a repeat of his 2020 from.

Barcelona is as close as Joan Mir gets to a home race, as the defending champion aims to build on his Mugello podium place. Alex Rins won’t be part of the battle though. The Suzuki rider is out of the race after continuing his miserable run of luck by falling off a bicycle and breaking his wrist — having fallen in each of the previous four races.


How to watch on TV

MotoGP is broadcast on BT Sport in the UK with every session covered throughout the weekend on the BT Sport 2 channel. This weekend, coverage of Friday’s practice sessions begin well in advance of the start of each session. 8am for FP1 and 12:15pm for FP2.

Coverage of Saturday’s practice and qualifying sessions lasts from 8am until 4pm, with each session covered live. Race day coverage includes the warm-ups starting at 8am before the race coverage commencing at 11:30am later in the morning.


How to watch online

MotoGP can be streamed online via the BT Sport app on any compatible device. If you don’t watch via BT, the MotoGP Video Pass also grants access to every live session throughout the race weekend that can be streamed on the official MotoGP website or app.


2021 MotoGP Grand Prix of Catalunya session start times

(All times BST)


FP1: 8:55 – 9:40

FP2: 13:10 – 13:55


FP3: 8:55 – 9:40

FP4: 12:30 – 13:00

Q1: 13:10 – 13:25

Q2: 14:35 – 14:50


Warm-up: 8:30 – 8:50

Race: 12:00