2018 Monaco Grand Prix: Red Bulls dominant in FP2


Red Bull follows up its FP1 dominance by topping FP2 in Monaco

Red Bull once again set the pace in Monaco Grand Prix free practice, with Daniel Ricciardo quickest on the streets of Monte Carlo ahead of team-mate Max Verstappen.

The Dutchman spent much of the session on top but was shuffled to second as the session neared its final 20 minutes when Ricciardo became the first driver ever to lap Monaco inside 1min12sec with a 1min11.841sec.

Both Red Bull drivers surpassed Ricciardo’s FP1 benchmark.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel was closest to the dominant Red Bulls, 0.5sec back in third, with Lewis Hamilton a tenth further back in fourth. Finns Kimi Räikkönen and Valtteri Bottas followed their respective Ferrari and Mercedes team-mates, with Räikkönen fifth and Bottas sixth.

The session was interrupted by a brief red flag for track repairs between Casino Square and Mirabeau after 30 minutes courtesy of a drain cover becoming dislodged, losing 10 minutes of track time. On resumption Verstappen and Romain Grosjean then made light contact at the hairpin, with both continuing undamaged.

Renault’s Nico Hülkenberg was best of the rest in seventh, four tenths slower than Bottas, with Stoffel Vandoorne 0.03s slower in the similarly powered McLaren. Fernando Alonso and Carlos Sainz – who grazed the wall late on – proved the McLaren and Renault to be closely matched around Monaco by ending the session ninth and 10th , the two teams covered by 0.2sec.

The under pressure Brendon Hartley, 11th, was again quicker than his Toro Rosso team-mate Pierre Gasly, with the pair split by Force India duo Sergio Pérez and Esteban Ocon.

Sergey Sirotkin finished 15th in the timesheets for Williams, just ahead of Kevin Magnussen’s Haas. Home racer Charles Leclerc claimed 17th in the Alfa Romeo Sauber, ahead of Grosjean, and the distant Lance Stroll and Marcus Ericsson.


1 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1min 11.841sec  
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1min 12.035sec +0.194sec
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1min 12.413sec +0.572sec
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1min 12.536sec +0.695sec
5 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1min 12.543sec +0.702sec
6 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1min 12.642sec +0.801sec
7 Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1min 13.047sec +1.206sec
8 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1min 13.077sec +1.236sec
9 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1min 13.115sec +1.274sec
10 Carlos Sainz Renault 1min 13.200sec +1.359sec
11 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1min 13.222sec +1.381sec
12 Sergio Pérez Force India 1min 13.370sec +1.529sec
13 Esteban Ocon Force India 1min 13.382sec +1.541sec
14 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1min 13.410sec +1.569sec
15 Sergey Sirotkin Williams 1min 13.547sec +1.706sec
16 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1min 13.572sec +1.731sec
17 Charles Leclerc Sauber 1min 13.575sec +1.734sec
18 Romain Grosjean Haas 1min 13.763sec +1.922sec
19 Lance Stroll Williams 1min 14.011sec +2.170sec
20 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1min 14.173sec +2.332sec

For full analysis of this weekend’s Monaco Grand Prix, subscribe to the Mark Hughes newsletter for his comprehensive Grand Prix report on Monday morning.


You may also like