2019 Formula 1 Belgian Grand Prix — race results


Race results for the 2019 Formula 1 Belgian Grand Prix. Contains full classification. Full race report will follow

2019 Formula 1 Belgian Grand Prix start

Photo: Motorsport Images

Charles Leclerc won his first Formula 1 race in Belgium and immediately dedicated the victory to his French compatriot, Anthoine Hubert, who was killed in a Formula 2 race yesterday.

Leclerc emerged emotional from the cockpit after a measured drive from pole position, in which he lost the lead through pit stops, regained it from team-mate Sebastian Vettel, and then watched his mirrors as a charged Lewis Hamilton erode his lead of more than six seconds to less than a second at the line.

The Monaco resident had dominated the weekend, topping all but one of the practice sessions, and each of the three qualifying rounds. He is now the the 39th driver to win an F1 race, and the first Monégasque.

Don’t miss the full race report from Mark Hughes: sign up to the F1 newsletter

The race began with a safety car, when Max Verstappen clipped Kimi Räikkönen at the La Source hairpin at the end of the pit straight. The collision broke his steering column, and Verstappen speared into the barriers at the high-speed Eau Rouge bend.

Once the safety car returned to the pits, Leclerc maintained the lead that he had held from the start, ahead of Vettel, followed by Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas. It remained that way until Vettel pitted on lap 15. With extra performance from his new medium tyres, the gap to Hamilton was immediately less than a pit stop’s-worth. And Vettel also reduced the gap to Leclerc.

When the Frenchman finally pitted on lap 21, he emerged well behind Vettel, as did Hamilton who made his stop two laps later.

But Vettel’s longer stint eventually saw him slow, and he was ordered to let Leclerc pass for the lead, with Hamilton approaching fast. Vettel managed to hold the Mercedes driver off for around three laps before Hamilton moved into second with a DRS-assisted pass on lap 32.

Hamilton then bore down on Leclerc, but the time spent behind Vettel looked to have extended the gap by just enough as the Frenchman tasted victory for the first time.

Charles Leclerc points to the sky in memory of Anthoine Hubert after winning the 2019 Belgian Grand Prix a day after Hubert's death

Leclerc dedicates his victory to Hubert Photo: Motorsport Images

There was disappointment for Lando Norris who drove an impressive race, only to retire from fifth position with a failure, a lap from the end.

It promoted an aggressive Alexander Albon, who had started 17th, to fifth. In his first race for Red Bull, punchy manoeuvres included passing Daniel Ricciardo around the outside of Turn Nine, and bouncing past Sergio Perez on the grass during the final lap, a move that is under investigation.

Read the full story in Mark Hughes’ race report, coming later.

The full race results are below.



2019 Belgian Grand Prix provisional results

Position Driver Team Time Points
1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1hr 23min 45.710sec 25
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +0.981sec 18
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes +12.585sec 16*
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari +26.422sec 12
5 Alexander Albon Red Bull +1min 21.325sec 10
6 Sergio Perez Racing Point +1min 24.448sec 8
7 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso +1min 29.657sec 6
8 Nico Hülkenberg Renault +1min 46.639sec 4
9 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso +1min 49.168sec 2
10 Lance Stroll Racing Point +1min 49.838sec 1
11 Lando Norris McLaren DNF  
12 Kevin Magnussen Haas +1 lap  
13 Romain Grosjean Haas +1 lap  
14 Daniel Ricciardo Renault +1 lap  
15 George Russell Williams +1 lap  
16 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo +1 lap  
17 Robert Kubica Williams +1 lap  
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo DNF  
DNF Carlos Sainz McLaren    
DNF Max Verstappen Red Bull    

*Fastest lap


F1 Drivers’ Championship after Race 13 (Belgium)

Position Driver Team Points
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 268
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 203
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull 181
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 169
5 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 157
6 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 65
7 Carlos Sainz McLaren 58
8 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 33
9 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo 31
10 Alexander Albon Red Bull 26
11 Lando Norris McLaren 24
12 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 22
13 Sergio Perez Racing Point 21
14 Nico Hülkenberg Renault 21
15 Lance Stroll Racing Point 19
16 Kevin Magnussen Haas 18
17 Romain Grosjean Haas 8
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 1
19 Robert Kubica Williams 1
20 George Russell Williams 0


F1 Constructors’ Championship after Race 13 (Belgium)

Position Team Points
1 Mercedes 471
2 Ferrari 326
3 Red Bull 254
4 McLaren 82
5 Toro Rosso 51
6 Renault 43
7 Racing Point 40
8 Alfa Romeo 32
9 Haas 26
10 Williams 1

You may also like