Constructors champions


It was never really in doubt was it? As soon as the pace of the Mercedes was there for all to see, winning the 2014 Constructors’ Championship was merely a formality.

In celebration of another Constructors’ Championship sealed, we take a photographic look back at some of the past winners.

Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium
June 1958
Tony Brooks on his way to victory aboard the Vanwall. In ’58 a constructor was only awarded points for its highest-placed car and at season’s close, only the best six results counted. Vanwall scored six victories throughout the year thanks to Brooks and Stirling Moss while second-placed Ferrari only managed two. Results – 1st: Vanwall, 2nd: Ferrari, 3rd: Cooper

Monte Carlo, Monaco
May 1963
Jim Clark gets snapped from two angles while heading for a win in Monaco. It wasn’t to be, though, as despite leading comfortably on the 79th lap the Lotus 25’s gearbox packed up. Lotus eventually beat BRM to the championship by 18 points. Results – 1st: Lotus, 2nd: BRM, 3rd: Brabham

Nürburgring, Germany
August 1969
Jean-Pierre Beltoise gets clear air between his Matra MS80 and the Nordschleife track. Despite finishing 12th on the road – two laps down on the winner Ickx – he picked up a point since six of the seven cars ahead of him were F2 machines. Largely thanks to Beltoise’s team-mate Stewart, Matra were well ahead of Brabham come season’s end. Results – 1st: Matra, 2nd: Brabham, 3rd: Lotus

Montjuïc Park, Barcelona, Spain
April 1975
Niki Lauda gets away better than team-mate Clay Regazzoni with Mario Andretti following closely behind. It was the start that might not have been for the drivers were concerned that the barriers weren’t bolted together properly and initially refused to practice. The strike was called off, but Lauda’s race would be over immediately thanks to Brambilla’s March and Andretti’s Parnelli coming together. The latter then hit the back of Lauda who cannoned into Regazzoni… Twenty-five laps later tragedy struck when Stommelen’s rear wing broke, sending him over the barriers and into the spectators. Five were killed and Formula 1 would never return to the track. Results – 1st: Ferrari, 2nd: Brabham, 3rd: McLaren

Imola, Italy
April 1982
This was the view that Villeneuve had to endure when crossing the line – that of the back of Didier Pironi’s Ferrari 126C2. Villeneuve was leading but having been shown ‘slow’ boards by Ferrari he backed off. Pironi didn’t and dived ahead. A heated battle commenced which was finished with Pironi muscling his way past. “Into the Tosa hairpin,” wrote Jenks, “Pironi carved his way back into the lead in a manoeuvre that would have been heroic if his adversary had been a Renault, but on your own team-mate…!” Tragically Villeneuve died during qualifying for the following Grand Prix having vowed not to speak to Pironi ever again. Results – 1st: Ferrari, 2nd: McLaren, 3rd: Renault

Monte Carlo, Monaco
May 1989
Ayrton Senna wins his first Monaco Grand Prix aboard the McLaren MP4/5. His closest rival, Prost, was 52 seconds back come the end of the race. Prost would win that year’s title while McLaren finished with almost double the points of second-placed Williams. Results – 1st: McLaren, 2nd: Williams, 3rd: Ferrari

Interlagos, Sao Paulo, Brazil
March 1997
Jacques Villeneuve racks up his first win of seven during 1997. After the disqualification of Michael Schumacher Villeneuve’s closest challenger was Heinz-Harald Frentzen with almost half the number of points. Williams comfortably beat Ferrari to the constructors’ crown. Results – 1st: Williams, 2nd: Ferrari, 3rd: Benetton

Magny-Cours, France
July 2004
There were no disqualifications in 2004 when Ferrari once again dominated the year. Their nearest rivals – BAR Honda – finished 143 points behind… Schumacher also had a relatively easy ride with 13 victories in 18 races. Results – 1st: Ferrari, 2nd: BAR-Honda, 3rd: Renault

Sochi, Russia
October 2014
Lewis Hamilton celebrates his ninth win of the season in parc fermé and a first constructors’ title for Mercedes-Benz. Results – 1st: Mercedes, 2nd: TBC, 3rd: TBC

You may also like