F1 Abu Dhabi tyre testing results


Results and a recap from Formula 1 testing at Yas Marina on November 27-28

Charles Leclerc Yas Marina 2018 testing

Ferrari duo Charles Leclerc and Sebastian Vettel set the fastest times in postseason Formula 1 testing at Yas Marina, Abu Dhabi, on November 27-28.

Mercedes only fielded one car with Valtteri Bottas driving in both days of the test to finish third-fastest overall. 

The test involved the 2018 cars on 2019 Pirelli tyres, with numerous drivers testing for their new squads for the first time.

Max Verstappen was narrowly quicker than Pierre Gasly, who drove on Wednesday.

On Tuesday, Lando Norris drove for McLaren before new team-mate Carlos Sainz stepped in on Wednesday to finish four-tenths off Norris.

More: Stroll confirmed to drive for Force India

Haas fielded Pietro Fittipaldi (15th) who finished ahead of Robert Kubica in the standings and behind fellow Haas junior driver Louis Delétraz. The 21-year-old Swiss driver also topped Formula 2 testing in Abu Dhabi with Carlin. 

Daniil Kvyat returned to Toro Rosso, finishing 13th fastest overall behind Williams’ new driver George Russell. Russell drove on both days of the test.

Rounding out the standings, Sean Gelael finished behind the Sauber pair of Kimi Räikkönen and Antonio Giovinazzi. 

Formula 1 2018 Pirelli tyre test combined results

Position Driver Day 1 time Day 2 time Team
1 Charles Leclerc   1min36.450 Ferrari
2 Sebastian Vettel 1min36.812   Ferrari
3 Valtteri Bottas 1min37.231 1min38.448 Mercedes
4 Lance Stroll 1min37.415 1min38.044 Force India
5 Pierre Gasly   1min37.916 Red Bull
6 Max Verstappen 1min37.947   Red Bull
7 Sergio Pérez 1min37.976   Force India
8 Lando Norris 1min38.187   McLaren
9 Carlos Sainz   1min38.547 McLaren
10 Artem Markelov   1min38.590 Renault
11 Nico Hülkenberg 1min38.789   Renault
12 George Russell 1min39.512 1min38.802 Williams
13 Daniil Kvyat   1min38.862 Toro Rosso
14 Louis Delétraz   1min39.069 Haas
15 Pietro Fittipaldi 1min39.201   Haas
16 Robert Kubica 1min39.269 1min44.208 Williams
17 Kimi Räikkönen 1min39.878   Sauber
18 Antonio Giovinazzi   1min40.435 Sauber
19 Sean Gelael 1min40.435   Toro Rosso

You may also like