Ferrari fastest in Azerbaijan F1 FP3


Vettel fastest in Azerbaijan F1 FP3, Hamilton runner-up, Red Bull manages fourth and 12th

Sebastian Vettel set the fastest time in the third practice session of the Azerbaijan Formula 1 Grand Prix, ahead of Lewis Hamilton.

Ferrari set the pace until late efforts from Mercedes threatened to topple Vettel’s leading time, but Hamilton could only muster second, 0.361sec off the pace. Kimi Räikkonen finished another 0.041sec behind.

Valtteri Bottas (fifth) was leapfrogged for fourth by Max Verstappen at the end of the session, with the two split by 0.050sec.

Sergio Pérez continued a strong weekend for Force India to finish sixth ahead of Haas’ Kevin Magnussen.

Red Bull’s pace from FP1 and FP2 was subdued on Saturday afternoon, though Verstappen’s late effort showed a more representative pace; Daniel Ricciardo finished 12th, 1.3sec off his team-mate.

Sergey Sirotkin, after a solid session of running for Williams, brought out a red flag with nine minutes remaining with a lock up through Turn 3 and a shunt into the outside wall.

Separated from the leader by 1.443sec, Sirotkin finished 10th, while team-mate Lance Stroll managed eighth – Force India’s Esteban Ocon splitting the two Williams.

The session restarted with three minutes remaining, causing a flurry of late activity with the majority of teams fitting new ultrasofts to their cars.

But that left only one flying lap left in the session and little changed on the leaderboard.

Stoffel Vandoorne finished 18th, ahead of Marcus Ericsson, while Brendon Hartley rounded out the standings which were spread over 3.095sec.

Azerbaijan Formula 1 Grand Prix FP3 results

1 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1min 43.091sec  
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1min 43.452sec +0.361sec
3 Kimi Raikkönen Ferrari 1min 43.493sec +0.402sec
4 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1min 43.519sec +0.428sec
5 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1min 43.569sec +0.478sec
6 Sergio Pérez Force India 1min 43.936sec +0.845sec
7 Kevin Magussen Haas 1min 43.958sec +0.867sec
8 Lance Stroll Williams 1min 44.123sec +1.032sec
9 Esteban Ocon Force India 1min 44.220sec +1.129sec
10 Sergey Sirotkin Williiams 1min 44.534sec +1.443sec
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1min 44.763sec +1.672sec
12 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1min 44.861sec +1.770sec
13 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1min 44.973sec +1.814sec
14 Charles Leclerc Sauber 1min 45.218sec +2.127sec
15 Romain Grosjean Haas 1min 45.261sec +2.170sec
16 Carlos Sainz Jr Renault 1min 45.432sec +2.341sec
17 Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1min 45.456sec +2.365sec
18 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1min 45.505sec +2.414sec
19 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1min 45.910sec +2.819sec
20 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1min 46.186sec +3.095sec


You may also like