Ferrari leads second Bahrain F1 practice


Ferrari duo on top in Bahrain Formula 1 Grand Prix FP2 after Red Bull’s Ricciardo leads FP1

Ferrari’s Kimi Räikkonen led the second free practice session of the Formula 1 Bahrain Grand Prix with a time of 1min 29.817sec, 0.011sec ahead of team-mate Sebastian Vettel. Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton finished fourth, behind Valtteri Bottas.

Räikkönen and Sebastian Vettel led the second practice session initially, with Räikkönen first to dip below the 1min30 mark on supersofts before Vettel closely followed suit.

The Finn then stopped with a loose wheel with around 15 minutes of FP2 remaining, ending a solid evening for him before he could use the soft tyre. Ferrari was consequently investigated for an unsafe release from the pits.

In third and fourth was the Mercedes pair, led by Bottas, while Red Bull filed in at fifth and sixth with Max Verstappen in front, the top six separated by 0.934sec.

Nico Hülkenberg just edged Pierre Gasly for seventh, with McLaren duo Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne rounding out the top 10. Those four were split by just 0.202sec in a close midfield showing.

Romain Grosjean, fresh from a strong FP1 showing, finished 11th ahead of Carlos Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso is hoping that it will benefit from a new MGUh courtesy of engine supplier Honda this weekend, though Brendon Hartley finished 20th in the evening session.

Williams rookie Sergey Sirotkin spun early on and ended up a tenth behind team-mate Lance Stroll, nearly three seconds off Räikkönen’s leading pace.

FP2 ended with a safety car restart test, with teams nominating a driver each to participate.

The first free practice session ended unceremoniously for Verstappen, whose RB14 ground to a halt after six minutes due to a suspected turbo issue. All eyes were on the Red Bull driver as he pushed his car back to the pits.

Ricciardo, on the other hand, set the fastest time of the session on soft tyres with 20 minutes remaining. His time of 1min 31.060sec was three tenths faster than runner-up Bottas, while Räikkönen, who led the session early on, was third with a time of 1min 31.458sec.

Ferrari team-mate Vettel was 0.012sec back in fourth, but nearly eight tenths faster than fifth place Lewis Hamilton.

Haas’ Grosjean took sixth ahead of Gasly. Renault driver Sainz (eighth), Kevin Magnussen (ninth) and Hulkenberg rounded out the top 10, covered by 2.044sec.

Sauber rookie Charles Leclerc finished 12th, splitting the two McLarens led by Alonso while Stroll finished 14th, 2.319sec off the pace. Both Stroll and Leclerc spun early on in the session.

The Force India pair was fairly anonymous, finishing at the back in FP1 with Ocon 2.734sec off the pace, last but for Verstappen.

Free Practice 2 results

1 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1min 29.817sec  
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1min 29.828sec +0.011sec
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1min 30.380sec +0.563sec
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1min 30.472sec +0.655sec
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1min 30.745sec +0.928sec
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1min 30.751sec +0.934sec
7 Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1min 31.220sec +1.403sec
8 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1min 31.232sec +1.415sec
9 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1min 31.282sec +1.465sec
10 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1min 31.422sec +1.605sec
11 Romain Grosjean Haas 1min 31.591sec +1.774sec
12 Carlos Sainz Jr Renault 1min 31.601sec +1.784sec
13 Esteban Ocon Force India 1min 31.809sec +1.992sec
14 Sergio Pérez Force India 1min 31.868sec +2.051sec
15 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1min 31.969sec +2.152sec
16 Charles Leclerc Sauber 1min 32.372sec +2.555sec
17 Lance Stroll Williams 1min 32.382sec +2.565sec
18 Sergey Sirotkin Williams 1min 32.474sec +2.657sec
19 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1min 32.733sec +2.916sec
20 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1min 32.908sec +3.091sec

Free Practice 1 results

1 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1min 31.060sec  
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1min 31.364sec +0.304sec
3 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1min 31.458sec +0.398sec
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1min 31.470sec +0.410sec
5 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1min 32.272sec +1.212sec
6 Romain Grosjean Haas 1min 32.516sec +1.456sec
7 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1min 32.779sec +1.719sec
8 Carlos Sainz Jr Renault 1min 32.885sec +1.825sec
9 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1min 32.971sec +1.911sec
10 Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1min 33.104sec +2.044sec
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1min 33.223sec +2.163sec
12 Charles Leclerc Sauber 1min 33.278sec +2.218sec
13 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1min 33.364sec +2.304sec
14 Lance Stroll Williams 1min 33.379sec +2.319sec
15 Sergey Sirotkin Williams 1min 33.467sec +2.407sec
16 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1min 33.497sec +2.437sec
17 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1min 33.508sec +2.448sec
18 Sergio Pérez Force India 1min 33.662sec +2.602sec
19 Esteban Ocon Force India 1min 33.794sec +2.734sec
20 Max Verstappen Red Bull    

You may also like