Ferrari tops F1 test


Sebastian Vettel posted the fastest time of the two-day Abu Dhabi Pirelli Formula 1 test while 2018 Sauber prospect Charles Leclerc completed 149 laps

Vettel’s time of 1min 37.551sec was set 22 laps into the morning of his 118 lap stint. Valtteri Bottas followed, nearly a second back with 141 laps under his belt, and Max Verstappen was third, 1.185sec off the pace after 132 laps.

Ferrari’s Kimi Räikkönen set the fastest time on Tuesday, with an effort of 1min 37.768sec.

Robert Kubica, in seventh, continued his F1 push with another 28 laps for Williams while Sergey Sirotkin, who is also in the running for the Williams seat next season, made his debut for the squad with 86 laps to finish 10th.

Charles Leclerc completed the most laps of the day with 149 for Sauber – which will be known as Alfa Romeo Sauber from 2018. Sauber has not yet confirmed its 2018 line-up but it is understood that the Formula 2 Champion is in contention. 

McLaren ran two cars again, with Stoffel Vandoorne and Lando Norris turning 223 laps between them at Yas Marina.

Toro Rosso rounded out the bottom of the standings in the final day of F1 testing on Wednesday, with Brendon Hartley 13th and team-mate Pierre Gasly 14th.

Pos Driver Team Time Laps Tyre
1 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m37.551sec 118 Hyper-soft
2 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1m37.768sec 99 Hyper-soft
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1m38.066sec 109 Hyper-soft
4 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1m38.490sec 141 Hyper-soft
5 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m38.551sec 136 Hyper-soft
6 Sergio Pérez Force India 1m38.818sec 52 Super-soft
7 Esteban Ocon Force India 1m39.270sec 72 Super-soft
8 Romain Grosjean Haas 1m39.270sec 137 Hyper-soft
9 Carlos Sainz Renault 1m39.444sec 109 Hyper-soft
10 Robert Kubica Williams 1m39.485sec Day 1: 100 / Day 2: 29 Hyper-soft
11 Lance Stroll Williams 1m39.580sec 109 Hyper-soft
12 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1m39.762sec 115 Hyper-soft
13 Stoffel Vandoorne  McLaren 1m39.782sec 105 Hyper-soft
14 Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1m39.803sec 85 Hyper-soft
15 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1m39.810sec 124 Hyper-soft
16 Sergey Sirotkin Williams 1m39.947sec 86 Hyper-soft
17 Nikita Mazepin Force India 1m39.485sec 90 Soft
18 Charles Leclerc Sauber 1m40.666sec 149 Hyper-soft
19 Sean Gelael Toro Rosso 1m41.428sec 117 Hyper-soft
20 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1m41.681sec 97 Hyper-soft
21 Lando Norris McLaren 1m41.714sec 118 Hyper-soft
22 Oliver Turvey McLaren 1m41.914sec 105 Hyper-soft
23 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1m43.345sec 61 Super-soft
24 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1m44.827sec 63 Soft



You may also like