This week in motor sport – October 24


The round-up of this week’s motor racing milestones from the Database and Archive, featuring titles for James Hunt and John Surtees and more.

October 24

1965: Richie Ginther scroes his, Honda’s and Goodyear’s first Grand Prix win. Report

1970: Jacky Ickx leads a Ferrari 1-2 in Mexico, with the crowd perilously close. Report

1971: Jo Siffert is killed at Brands Hatch, crashing at Hawthorn during the Victory Race. In profile 

1976: James Hunt wins the title with a recovery drive to the podium in Japan. Report

1993: Ayrton Senna wins the Japanese Grand Prix, and comes to blows with Eddie Irvine… Report

October 25

1964: Dan Gurney wins in Mexico, but John Surtees denies Jim Clark the Formula 1 title in dramatic fashion to become the first to win world titles on two and four wheels. Report

1992: Riccardo Patrese wins for what would be the final time in F1. Report

October 26

1942: Ferrari racer and one-time Grand Prix starter Jonathan Williams is born. In profile

1947: Ian Ashley is born. In profile

1986: Prost wins a dramatic season finale in Adelaide to claim the F1 title. Report 

October 27

1936: Winner of the South African Drivers Championship six years in a row, Dave Charlton is born. In profile

1963: Jim Clark dominates the Mexican Grand Prix. Report

October 28

1919: Walt Hansgen, mentor to Mark Donohue, is born. In profile

Hansgen during the 1959 Le Mans driving a Lister Costin-LM Jaguar, behind is the Giorgio Scarlatti/Giulio Cabianca Ferrari Dino 196S

October 29

1932: Alex Soler-Roig is born. In profile

1951: Racer and TV presenter Tiff Needell is born. In profile

1956: Star of the ’50s Louis Rosier dies following a crash at Montlhéry. In profile

1998: Lance Stroll, soon-to-be Williams driver, is born. In profile

October 30

1906: Giuseppe Farina, F1’s first world champion, is born. In profile

1917: Maurice Trintignant is born. In profile

1988: Senna wins in Japan after the Suzuka slope comes to his aid after stalling. Report

Senna on the way to victory in Japan in 1988

You may also like