Formula E 2018/19 shake-ups announced

Formula E News

Formula E 2018/19 calendar announced, with the notable absence of a British round

Gen2 Formula E car, rear 3 quarters

The FIA has published the Formula E calendar for 2018/19 after the World Motor Sport Council’s meeting in Manila. The long-awaited return of a British round, however, hasn’t come to fruition – but there are gaps in the calendar.

The season begins in Saudi Arabia on December 15, finishing on July 14, 2019, in New York City. 

Marrakesh, Mexico City and Hong Kong return, as do the European rounds of Rome, Paris, Monaco, Berlin and Zurich. 

With the Gen2 car making its debut next season, further changes have been outlined to account for the new car, which will do away with mid-race car swaps.

Related: Generation E’s new ride

Drivers will have two power modes over the whole race, with the default 200kW mode available throughout and the ability to use a 225kW power mode in designated zones (much like DRS zones). The use of that ‘hyberboost’ is mandatory, and will be indicated by the LEDs on the new halo head protection device.

‘Fanboost’ remains, with three drivers utilising fans’ votes to take their maximum power output to 250kW. 

Race distances will run to 45-minutes plus one lap to reach the finish line, with bonus points being given to the driver who achieves the fastest lap and the driver in the top five who has used the least amount of energy.

Formula E season five 2018/19 calendar

Round City Country Date
1 Ad Diriyah Saudi Arabia December 15 2018
2 Marrakesh Morocco January 12 2019
3 TBA TBA January 26 2019
4 Mexico City Mexico February 16 2019
5 Hong Kong China March 10 2019
6 TBA China March 23 2019
7 Rome Italy April 13 2019
8 Paris France April 27 2019
9 Monaco Monaco May 11 2019
10 Berlin Germany May 25 2019
11 Zurich Switzerland June 9 2019
12 New York City USA July 13 2019
13 New York City USA July 14 2019

You may also like