Updated: Formula E 2018/19 teams and drivers

Formula E News

Formula E season five begins on December 15. Here are all of the Gen 2 cars and drivers announced so far, plus the Formula E 2018/19 calendar

Formula E Gen 2 car rear

Confirmed Formula E season five (2018/19) drivers


Gary Paffett will join series newcomers HWA RACELAB for season five, run by Mercedes DTM boss Ulrich Fritz in partnership with Venturi. Mercedes will take over the entry for the 2019/20 season. Stoffel Vandoorne has been brought on board after being replaced at McLaren’s Formula 1 squad by Lando Norris.

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler

Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt remain at the Audi Formula E squad for the 2018/19 season.

BMW I Andretti Autosport

António Félix da Costa and Alexander Sims will drive for the BMW works outfit, known last season as MS&AD Andretti. Stephane Sarrazin, Kamui Kobayashi and Tom Blomqvist split the second seat in 2017/18.

Envision Virgin Racing

Virgin will use Audi customer cars with Audi works driver Robin Frijns – formerly of Andretti – partnering Sam Bird for season five. Aston Martin works driver Alex Lynn drove for the team in 2017/18.

Panasonic Jaguar Racing

Nelson Piquet Jr and Mitch Evans will drive Jaguar’s Formula E Gen 2 car for the 2018/19 season.

NIO Formula E Team

Tom Dillmann replaces Luca Fillipi to join Oliver Turvey at NIO, which started off as Team China Racing. 

DS Techeetah Formula E team

Champion Jean-Éric Vergne and Andre Lotterer will drive the Techeetah FE car as the team gains manufacturer support from DS for season five.

Nissan E.DAMS

Nissan partners with E.DAMS (formerly with Renault) as Sébastien Buemi is joined by Oliver Rowland. Alex Albon was tipped to partner Buemi but he has joined Toro Rosso in Formula 1.


José María López sticks with Dragon, while Jérôme d’Ambrosio has left the squad for Mahindra. Formula 2 racer Max Günther tested for Dragon at Valencia and will drive for the team this season.

Venturi Formula E Team

Ex-Williams Formula 1 driver Felipe Massa joins Edoardo Mortara at Venturi for season five, with Maro Engel leaving the team.

Mahindra Racing

The Indian squad has signed former Sauber Formula 1 driver and Mercedes junior Pascal Wehrlein. Jérôme d’Ambrosio, who has four years’ worth of Formula E experience with Dragon Racing, moves across to partner the 23-year-old German. They replace Nick Heidfeld and the IndyCar-bound Felix Rosenqvist.


Formula E season five 2018/19 calendar

Date Round
December 15 Ad Diriyah, Saudi Arabia
January 12 Marrakesh, Morocco
January 26 Santiago, Chile
March 10 Hong Kong, Hong Kong
March 23 Sanya, China
April 13 Rome, Italy
April 27 Paris, France
May 11 Monaco, Monte Carlo
May 25 Berlin, Germany
June 9 Bern, Switzerland
July 13 New York City, United States
July 14 New York City, United States

You may also like