Five hypercar entries confirmed for 2021 WEC season, with strong LMP2 grid

Sports Car News

The 2021 World Endurance Championship entries have been confirmed as the new hypercar era begins

Toyota hypercar WEC

The hypercar era begins as WEC unveils its 2021 entry list


Toyota, Glickenhaus and Alpine will head up the new hypercar era in the World Endurance Championship (WEC) as the entry list for the 2021 season has been unveiled.

Five entries have been confirmed for the hypercar category along with the strongest LMP2 grid in the history of the season.

Toyota will continue with its six drivers from the 2019/20 season with its hypercar programme and two entries. Glickenhaus will also enter two cars into the top class with Ryan Briscoe, Gustavo Menezes and two-time Le Mans winner Romain Dumas confirmed as part of its line-up. However, there is no sign yet of ByKolles’ 2021 hypercar entry.

Alpine has moved up to the top class with one entry, having taken over Rebellion’s LMP1 car, running it this year as a grandfathered car.

2021 WEC Hypercar entry list

Toyota Gazoo Racing Toyota GR010 Hybrid Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi & Jose Maria Lopez
Toyota Gazoo Racing Toyota GR010 Hybrid Sebastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima & Brendon Hartley
Glickenhaus Racing Glickenhaus 007 LMH Gustavo Menezes, Franck Mailleux & Olivier Pla
Glickenhaus Racing Glickenhaus 007 LMH Ryan Briscoe, Pipo Derani, Romain Dumas & Richard Westbrook
Alpine Elf Mamut Alpine A480-Gibson Andre Negrao, Nicolas Lapierre & Matthieu Vaxiviere

2021 WEC LMP2 entry list

The LMP2 class will be the largest in WEC history this season, with 11 confirmed entries, including the all-female line-up of the Richard Mille Racing no1 squad.

Sophia Floersch, Tatiana Calderon and Beitske Visser will form that team while plenty of familiar names comprise the rival entries in the class.

Juan Pablo Montoya will contest the full season with DragonSpeed and Mercedes Formula E driver Stoffel Vandoorne will race for JOTA.

Richard Mille Racing Oreca 07-Gibson Sophia Floersch, Tatiana Calderon & Beitske Visser
High Class Racing Oreca 07-Gibson Jan Magnussen, Anders Fjordbach & Dennis Andersen
DragonSpeed USA Oreca 07-Gibson Henrik Hedman, Juan Pablo Montoya & Ben Hanley
United Autosports USA Oreca 07-Gibson Philip Hanson, Fabio Scherer & Filipe Albuquerque
JOTA Oreca 07-Gibson Sean Gelael, Stoffel Vandoorne & Tom Blomqvist
Racing Team Nederland Oreca 07-Gibson Frits Van Eerd, Giedo Van Der Garde & Job Van Uitert
Team WRT Oreca 07-Gibson Robin Frijns
Inter Europol Competition Ligier JS P217-Gibson Jakub Smiechowski, Renger Van dez Zande & Alex Brundle
JOTA Oreca 07-Gibson Roberto Gonzalez, Antonio Felix Da Costa & Anthony Davidson
ARC Bratislava Ligier JS P217-Gibson Miroslav Konopka
Realteam Racing Oreca 07-Gibson Esteban Garcia


2021 WEC GTE-Pro entry list

Porsche and Ferrari will battle it out head-to-head in GTE-Pro with two entries from each in 2021.

Neel Jani and Daniel Serra are the new names for each manufacturer respectively for the new season.

AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE EVO Alessandro Pier Guidi & James Calado
AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE EVO Daniel Serra & Miguel Molina
Porsche GT Team Porsche 911 RSR-19 Gianmaria Bruni & Richard Lietz
Porsche GT Team Porsche 911 RSR-19 Kevin Estre & Neel Jani


2021 WEC GTE-Am entry list

13 entries make up the GTE-Am grid for 2021, with Aston Martin, Ferrari and Porsche represented with at least three cars in the field.

Another all-female line-up will be in the Am class, as Rahel Frey, Manuela Gostner and Michelle Gatting comprise the no85 Iron Lynx entry.

AF Corse, Dempsey-Proton Racing and Aston Martin Racing all return for the 2021 season.

TF Sport Aston Martin Vantage Ben Keating, Dylan Pereira & Felipe Fraga
Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR-19 Jörg Bergmeister
Cetilar Racing Ferrari 488 GTE EVO Roberto Lacorte
AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE EVO Thomas Flohr, Francesco Castellacci & Giancarlo Fisichella
Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR-19 Egidio Perfetti & Matteo Cairoli
Iron Lynx Ferrari 488 GTE EVO Claudio Schiavoni
Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche 911 RSR-19 Christian Ried
AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE EVO François Perrodo, Nicklas Nielsen & Alessio Rovera
Iron Lynx Ferrari 488 GTE EVO Rahel Frey
GR Racing Porsche 911 RSR-19 Michael Wainwrigh
Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche 911 RSR-19 Julien Andlauer
Aston Martin Racing Aston Martin Vantage Paul Dalla Lana
D’station Racing Aston Martin Vantage Satoshi Hoshino

You may also like