Gallery: Farewell to the Daytona Prototype


Petit Le Mans brought the curtain down on the Daytona Prototype era of US sports cars, as LMP2 and LMP2-derived ‘DPi’ machinery replace the Daytona Prototypes in the United SportsCar Championship from 2017. 

Introduced in 2003, here’s a look back at how the Daytona Prototype evolved though the years:

The Doran Chevy leads the Watkins Glen 6 Hours in 2003.

Terry Borcheller claims the maiden DP title in 2003.

Homestead, 2004

Scott Pruett leads at Watkins Glen in the Lexus, 2004.

Mont-Tremblant, 2004.

Andy Wallace, Pontiac Crawfiord, Barber Park 2005.

A train of DPs at Miller Motorsports Park, 2006

The 2007 Daytona 24-winning Lexus of Chip Ganassi Racing

The Pontiac Riley of Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty leads the Pontiac Dallara of Max Angelelli and Michael Valiante, Salt Lake City 2008.

The Hurley Haywood/Joao Barbosa/J C. France-shared Brumos Porsche Riley leads the Krohn Racing Ford Lola of Tracy Krohn and Eric van de Poele, Daytona 2008

The BMW Riley of Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti, Juan Montoya, and Jamie McMurray during the 2012 Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Lakeville, 2012

The Corvette DP of Enzo Potolicchio, Stephane Sarrazin and Micael Valiante, 2013

Brendon Hartley and Scott Mayer takes the chequered flag at Elkhart Lake, 2013

Action Express Corvette DP of Christian Fittipaldi, Joao Barbosa and Filipe Albuquerque at Petit Le Mans, 2016.

The 2016 championship-winning Action Express Corvette DP of Eric Curran and Dane Cameron, which will go down in the histroy book as the last for a DP.

And what the future holds for the WeatherTech United SportsCar Championship

You may also like