Ultimate E-Type: The Competition Cars | Philip Porter | Hardback

The definitive authority on the ultimate Jaguar E-Type: the Lightweights. Read to see how they took on the might of Ferrari and American Muscle. Essential reading for fans of Jaguar and Sportscar racing.

£200.00

Sold By: Porter Press

Description

The Lightweights Es are the ultimate E-types, and this is the ultimate book on these charismatic cars. This is the full story of the competition E-types that took on the might of Ferrari and often beat the legendary GTOs and the AC Cobras. With copious unseen period photographs and original Jaguar reports, the glory years of the ’60s are told as never before, including the build up to the Lightweights and the evolution of the ultimate Low Drag versions.

This book is packed full of material to fascinate and inform E-type and motor-racing enthusiasts…

Lively, authoritative, intriguing, definitive, stylish, detailed
A chapter for each of the 12 cars
The full Lightweight E story
The history of the E2A prototype
The development story of Jaguar’s answer to the GTO
The driving impressions of E v. Cobra v. GTO
Revelations from Adrian Newey
Why a fresh water mussel was found in one car!
Masses of fresh information
The early racers to the final Low Drag Coupés
Stunning period and special studio photography
Over 200 interviewed including Sir Jackie Stewart, Dan Gurney, Roy Salvadori, Martin Brundle, Brian Redman, ‘Whizzo’ Williams, Peter Sutcliffe, John Coombs…
Almost every owner of each car traced
Part 1 – The Period Story, Part 2 – The Cars, Part 3 – Evaluation
By Philip Porter, award-winning author of over 15 Jaguar books

Delivery

Before the payment stage, there will be an added delivery fee – please proceed to check out to view the total sum.

During bank holidays and festive periods, please allow extra transit times.

Returns

For returns please contact our customer support team on [email protected].

Great stories

Products that bring you closer to racing legends and evoke the thrill of the track

Great choices

A select collection of essentials, collectibles and gifts for any motor sport enthusiast

Our brand

Motor Sport has been the authoritative voice of racing since 1924