Track back

50/30/20/10 years ago

Unknown Buzz Calkins wins the first-ever Indy Racing League event at Disney World Speedway, with Tony Stewart second. Michele Alboreto finished fourth.

Henri Toivonen takes a win on the Mone Carlo Rally in his Lancia Delta S4. That's despite sustaining a hip injury and twisted chassis when hit by a fan's car!

World Champion Niki Lauda kicks off his title defence with a Brazilian GP win for Ferrari. James Hunt takes pole on his McLaren debut but spins off after hitting mechanical trouble.

Juan Manuel Fangio takes over from Luigi Musso to win the Argentinian GP at Buenos Aires, after his own Lancia-Ferrari is delayed by two pitstops. Jean Behra is second for Maserati.